Chevron Left
Back to History of Rock, Part One

Learner Reviews & Feedback for History of Rock, Part One by University of Rochester

4.8
694 ratings
183 reviews

About the Course

This course, part 1 of a 2-course sequence, examines the history of rock, primarily as it unfolded in the United States, from the days before rock (pre-1955) to the end of the 1960s. This course covers the music of Elvis Presley, Chuck Berry, Phil Spector, Bob Dylan, the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, Jimi Hendrix, Cream, and many more artists, with an emphasis both on cultural context and on the music itself. We will also explore how developments in the music business and in technology helped shape the ways in which styles developed. Rock emerged in the mid 1950s as a blending of mainstream pop, rhythm and blues, and country and western--styles that previously had remained relatively separate. This new style became the music of the emerging youth culture and was often associated with teen rebellion. We will follow the story of how this rowdy first wave of rock and roll (1955-59) was tamed in the early 60s but came roaring back with the Beatles and the Rolling Stones and then went psychedelic by the end of the decade....

Top reviews

SM

Oct 02, 2016

This course has really helped to fill out my piecemeal understanding of the development of rock music. The pace and content of learning has been well considered and Prof Covach is to be congratulated.

BL

Mar 13, 2018

Provided insight into what I was listening to as a pre-teen. I didn't have the exposure to some of the older roots or the an understanding of the business forces that shaped the music I had access to.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 181 Reviews for History of Rock, Part One

By Cameron F

May 17, 2019

Fantastic Course. I thoroughly enjoyed all of the lectures and both discovered a lot of new music and learned why certain albums and artists where so influential. The teacher is really engaging and has great recommendations and stories.

By SONU K

May 07, 2019

NICE

By Maksym H

Apr 28, 2019

Very cool! I'd like to thank everobody who have created this course.

By Ricardo T G S

Apr 14, 2019

Good.

By Anuj P N L

Apr 04, 2019

It was an awesome experience of Learning history of Rock. Thank You Prof. John Covach. I learnt a lot of stuff from your Videos.

By Akshay M

Mar 29, 2019

awasome

By Kris G

Mar 14, 2019

Great course. Thanks.

By Bhupendra S R

Mar 14, 2019

good question

By ANKIT S G

Mar 14, 2019

Music is very important

By Ajit S G

Mar 14, 2019

ghghgh

By

Mar 13, 2019

John Covach es la verga

By HIMANSHU R

Mar 11, 2019

overall fab....

By Dr. J S

Feb 22, 2019

Excellent

By Nazarov R

Feb 14, 2019

Interesting material and great tutor indeed. Definitely the course is worth time spent and it is for everyone who’s interested in rock music history.

By Ivan H T V

Feb 02, 2019

Very interesting and useful traversy

By Marcelo F

Jan 26, 2019

Until what I have seen today it is a great course. However it is in many ways "too american". It should be rebranded History of American Rock. Despite that, it is very informative and have quite a good insights of what has been happening in America at the time and how Americans perceived themselves their culture and the British Invasion. Congrats. To this extend I am loving it!.

By John C

Jan 15, 2019

Very entertaining and insightful, loved it.

By Brittani G

Jan 15, 2019

This was extremely fun and informational. You can impress your friends at parties.

By a g

Jan 05, 2019

Thanks a lot for this course!

By 渐晨

Dec 31, 2018

nice!I have learned a lot of knowledge which I did not know before,I really appreciate this lessons and the teacher,John

Covach. During the study period,I also collected many beautiful songs.

By Brendan C

Nov 14, 2018

This was fantastic preparation to help me teach a course using this text next school year.

By IOANNIS B

Nov 03, 2018

Great course.I am going to study History of Rock Part 2 in the future!

By Marco A C

Sep 23, 2018

Excelent!

By Jade T

Sep 08, 2018

Engaging and an overall very informative course.

By Carolina A V S

Aug 18, 2018

El mejor curso sobre la historia del rock. Excelente profesor, detalles e información, entretenido, buenos ejemplos musicales.