Chevron Left
Back to Hôtel “De l'étoile” - a hotel in crisis?

Hôtel “De l'étoile” - a hotel in crisis? , ESSEC Business School

4.4
36 ratings
8 reviews

About this Course

In this case study based exercise, you will apply the knowledge you have gained about distribution, revenue and demand management to a ‘real’ world case – Hotel “De l'étoile” - a prestigious upmarket internationally branded property in Paris that to the outside world seems to be doing well but is in fact unprofitable for its owner. Actual data of the distribution performance, revenue management tactics, financial situation will be provided by the hotel partner. In addition detailed information about the hotel’s competitive environment will be provided by several industry partners. Video interviews with senior managers from the property will be used to supplement written material to create a more real world experience. As the new Director of Business Development hired to help the hotel decide how to proceed, you will evaluate the hotel’s current policies and performance, making recommendations for improvements and and plan how best to implement them....

Top reviews

By DK

Oct 18, 2017

I have learned so much through this Capstone project. How to apply the RM in a hotel scenario from concept to analyzing to implementation. Thank you Coursera for this wonderful learning platform.

By EM

Aug 17, 2016

Wonderful course & specialization - I learnt a lot !

Filter by:

8 Reviews

By Mauricio Alberto Quant Mejia

Mar 26, 2018

Good course. With more information we could have made better analysis.

By Deepti Kapoor

Oct 18, 2017

I have learned so much through this Capstone project. How to apply the RM in a hotel scenario from concept to analyzing to implementation. Thank you Coursera for this wonderful learning platform.

By Rajiv Mishra

Jul 09, 2017

Excellent Course...

By Cassandra Grimm

Jul 04, 2017

Not that many people gave helpful feedback to me about my project, but I would still recommend this course.

By ORJI CHINEDUM. MARTINS

Feb 11, 2017

real deal

By Alek Teran

Oct 28, 2016

Peer reviewed assignments are a joke. Assignment was "Not Verified" which is not possible seeing how before you submit you have to verify assignment.

By Eleanor Mitch

Aug 17, 2016

Wonderful course & specialization - I learnt a lot !

By Benjamin Chao

May 26, 2016

This capstone project is a bad joke and I'm gonna tell you why!

First, ESSEC TAs were never available! We had to contact Coursera several times for weeks to get a simple yet not helpful reply from ESSEC. And it was too late for anything, really... Remember, the whole project lasts for 4 weeks only!

Second, several documents required for the weekly assignments were missing! It's fair to say we were all free-styling (i.e. making wild assumptions) our ways through the entire capstone due to lack of necessary information.

Third (and most importantly). most of the participants didn't have any basic business background whatsoever. Be prepared to get a bad grade from someone who's clueless about hotel business, not to mention revenue or demand management. That really makes you wonder how these people even passed the last three core courses....

Forth, this capstone is great for those who just want to get a certificate for the sake of having a certificate. Did you notice those 4 or 5 star ratings with no written reviews? Yeah, they were probably trying to show their appreciation for the easy certificate. After all, it's easy to walk away with a decent grade when there's no one knows what's going on. ANYTHING GOES! However, if you are a serious learner who wants to actually learn something, run away from this capstone. You will be thanking me later.

All in all, a horrible experience and I wish I could get those 4 weeks of my life back!