Chevron Left
Back to Indigenous Canada

Indigenous Canada, University of Alberta

4.8
816 ratings
276 reviews

About this Course

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Top reviews

By JB

Jan 22, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

By YH

Sep 25, 2017

This course was eye-opening and an essential learning experience for my work with First Nations children and their families. I have and will continue to recommend this course to my colleagues.

Filter by:

275 Reviews

By Brittany Rudyck

Feb 20, 2019

Essential knowledge for all Canadians.

By sarah seminara

Feb 19, 2019

great overview of the history and current issues. It would have been better if it were a little more interactive.

By Tammy Ambrus

Feb 18, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this course, a wealth of knowledge, I cried many times over the in-justness succumbed by indigenous peoples then and now. I have recommended this course to everyone I know. Thank you for making this course possible!

By Irina Dragan

Feb 17, 2019

I absolutely love this course! I have learned so much! I feel like I knew nothing about the Indigenous Peoples prior to taking this course. I also feel that courses like this should be mandatory in all Canadian schools. It is very important to teach children about the Peoples whose lands we live on and about their culture and history. Big thank you for the creators of this course!!! I've enjoyed it very much - the format, the presentation style, the art, the music. I want to learn more and I hope to find more similar courses. Chi-miigwech!

By Paula Barrios

Feb 15, 2019

I really enjoyed the course and I feel that I learned a lot from it, but I found that the quality of the lectures and the course reading materials, as well as the quizzes, went down toward the end of the course, in particular in the last three modules, and that some of the information presented was superficial and perhaps one-sided.

By James McNeill

Feb 14, 2019

I really liked the course because it represented a cultural evolution over the past several hundred years and I feel like I can be part of this new movement with .

By

Feb 11, 2019

I was thankful to have been given the opportunity to take this class. Every person living in Turtle Island should take this course!!

By Bambi Lafferty

Feb 11, 2019

Very thorough, very informative. I like the delivery and convenience of this course.

By 戚兆禹

Feb 11, 2019

very coool

By Katlyn Paulhus

Feb 07, 2019

amazing. eye opening. Truly transformation in truth-telling