Chevron Left
Back to Design and Make Infographics (Project-Centered Course)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Design and Make Infographics (Project-Centered Course) by Michigan State University

4.7
555 ratings
167 reviews

About the Course

In this project-centered course*, you will create a content-rich infographic on a topic of your choice using Adobe Illustrator (which you can download for a free, 30-day trial). You might choose to create a visual representation of data from the world of sports, entertainment, politics, or science, to explain a business trend or environmental issue, or even to present a theme or development from your personal life. Your finished infographic will engage your target audience and convey information clearly through effective use of design elements such as typography, color, and structure. Whether you’re a graphic designer, a writer or the intern in the department, you’ll learn: • what an infographic is and what makes a good one • how to work within your limits • how to work with a team (if you have one) • why infographics are effective • techniques for spotting data in stories • six valuable steps for planning an effective infographic • how to use and make some of the building blocks of infographics: maps, charts and flow charts • ways data can be visualized to clarify it and give it meaning • how to effectively design a good infographic by effectively using elements like type, color and an underlying grid structure • some free or cheap, online tools for making various kinds of infographics As you work on your project, you’ll learn more about why infographics are effective, what makes a good infographic, and how to plan and design an infographic for maximum impact. You’ll explore various approaches to data visualization, and you’ll practice creating visualizations like maps, charts, flow charts, and simple drawings in your free version of Adobe Illustrator. Please note that if you are new to learning graphics software, making these graphics could take much longer than estimated as you learn and grow. What you’ll need to get started: This project-based course is aimed at anyone interested in understanding, designing, and using infographics - from students and hobbyists to professional graphic designers. We’ll use Adobe Illustrator for some components of the project. If you don’t have access to the full version of Illustrator,you can download a free version at www.Adobe.com/Illustrator. If the free 30-day trial runs out, you can "purchase" it for a month for about $20. *About Project-Centered Courses: Project centered courses are designed specifically to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of like-minded learners providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share. When you enroll in certain courses, you’ll be asked to pay a small fee to share your work with others for peer review....

Top reviews

RV

Oct 25, 2017

Really good! Karl Gude is great and knows how to explain in a clear way. Very useful course if you want to practice your Adobe Illustrator skills, and end up with projects to add on your portfolio.

CS

Jun 08, 2017

Wonderful and intuitive course, great performer. I recommend this course to everybody who wishes to immerse in the world infographics and to receive feedback on his or her progress in design.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 165 Reviews for Design and Make Infographics (Project-Centered Course)

By Michael M

Feb 24, 2017

I found this an extremely interesting and practical course, presented in an iengaging way. It included a wealth of advice and guidance on how to produce an infographic from start to finsh.

By Manvi D

Jan 11, 2019

This course is project centric and the videos are really clear, informative, detailed. While you do your assignments you learn a lot . Its worth taking this course.

By Jennifer K

Jan 15, 2019

Really helpful! I could apply my knowledge right away in practice.

By christy p

Feb 18, 2019

I loved this course. He is a great teacher!

By Eliana I B

Feb 28, 2019

Perfecto, claro, sin rodeos, muy útil. Gracias.

By Puspita K

Mar 24, 2019

It's practical, clear, and delivered in simple language. Thanks much for the instructor.

By Jordan W

Feb 07, 2019

A brief, practical and well led course that teaches you some great skills in no time.

By Sarah

Mar 07, 2019

So glad I made time for this course. The course material leads in nicely to the weekly assignments and build toward the final project, which (ideally) incorporates some of the work you did in prior weeks. The instructor is very knowledgeable and communicates the information well in his videos. Would definitely take another course taught by him. Happy to have a new skill as well as a few things to add to my portfolio. Thanks Coursera!

By Vaibhav G

Jan 21, 2019

This was a very good course and the trainer Mr. Karl Gude was excellent in his trainings. Thoroughly enjoyed taking this course. Thank you.

By Khadijah A

Jul 15, 2018

Excellent step by step guide. It has a lot of valuable information. Please note, that if you're a beginner in Graphic Design, you will probably be a little frustrated at first, but he really does go in depth and step by step! Give it a chance and see it through. Great class!

By Ana P L d S

Sep 03, 2018

Maravilhoso! Obrigada pelo conhecimento!!!

By Anjali K

Oct 16, 2018

very useful.

By Marie P

Oct 22, 2018

Excellent course - well paced and informative.

By Shalin S

Nov 08, 2018

Good course for beginners in Illustrator

By Mohamed Y M

Dec 22, 2017

the good and very nice lessony i love the prof.he is very understandig..

By Zahra

Jan 19, 2017

Overall i love the course, the only problem was the grading process , since my classmates get to give me points, there are many opinions but if you are unlucky and one of them decides to deduct a lot of your points , you'll have to wait until the next session ends so other classmates my grade you again.

in general i'm happy about the course and YES I LEARNED =)

By Terri C

Apr 13, 2017

The real deal - how to find, analyze and create amazing infographics. Even a huge resource on WHERE to sell your infographics.

By Rilia V

Oct 25, 2017

Really good! Karl Gude is great and knows how to explain in a clear way. Very useful course if you want to practice your Adobe Illustrator skills, and end up with projects to add on your portfolio.

By Amiena M

Feb 16, 2018

I love take this course, and it was so helpful to start this kind of design.

Thanks a lot and best wishes

By Venkatesh

Apr 07, 2017

It was my first Coursera course and I really enjoyed the structure provided and the whole learning experience. Hope I take the learning from the course and work on improving myself on creating world-class infographics

By Elsa P

Nov 21, 2017

This is a great introductory course on infographics that challenges the way you think!

By Jawaneh M M M

Feb 17, 2018

nice because its amazing

By Tanmoy K D

Jun 07, 2016

Very nice and helpful. I have learned a lot and it's improved my work.

By Diva G

Dec 07, 2017

Karl is super amazing. He keeps you engaged and teaches loads of stuff about creating maps, charts, making illustrations, structuring, and avoiding mistakes in color and typography. The assignments were creative and challenging, and forced me to do my best. I had so much fun doing them, and reading feedback as well. Loved it!

By Rudyanto

Jun 20, 2017

Inspiring course