Chevron Left
Back to Information Security: Context and Introduction

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Information Security: Context and Introduction by University of London

4.6
589 ratings
151 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will explore information security through some introductory material and gain an appreciation of the scope and context around the subject. This includes a brief introduction to cryptography, security management and network and computer security that allows you to begin the journey into the study of information security and develop your appreciation of some key information security concepts. The course concludes with a discussion around a simple model of the information security industry and explores skills, knowledge and roles so that you can determine and analyse potential career opportunities in this developing profession and consider how you may need to develop personally to attain your career goals. After completing the course you will have gained an awareness of key information security principles regarding information, confidentiality, integrity and availability. You will be able to explain some of the key aspects of information risk and security management, in addition, summarise some of the key aspects in computer and network security, including some appreciation of threats, attacks, exploits and vulnerabilities. You will also gain an awareness of some of the skills, knowledge and roles/careers opportunities within the information security industry....

Top reviews

JN

May 28, 2018

This has been very informative. I am in the IT industry and this has served as a good reminder and has helped me understand some rationales behind some of the things I do on a daily basis.

HR

Sep 13, 2017

The course is well explained. Can follow without any prior knowledge. Can be considered as a strong foundation for Information Security field. Highly recommended.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 150 Reviews for Information Security: Context and Introduction

By Erik M

May 28, 2018

I expected something more practical and less theoretical

By mohsen g h

Nov 29, 2018

This course is very useful as a first step in Cyber security career

By Dian K

Jan 11, 2019

This is a good course for you to explore your knowledge related to information security

By Moshera

Jan 15, 2019

Useful and rich in valuable information

By M. C O

Feb 19, 2019

The content of this course is very good and I would definitely recommend it.

I would rate as excellent the performance of Professor Keith M. Martin, it has made it very easy for me to understand the approach to cryptography.

Although, I would describe Professor Jorge Blasco's pronunciation as deficient and the performance as boring so that it has been difficult to maintain attention.

Best regards

By Arijit G

Mar 21, 2019

v good course

By María F

Jan 29, 2019

I really like this course

By Omkar P

Feb 12, 2019

THIS COURSE REALLY HELPED ME A LOT IN LEARNING ABOUT INTERNET SECURITY

By Daniel F O

Feb 12, 2019

Excelente curso, muchas gracias a todos quienes hicieron posible la realización del mismo, fue interesante

By Shamistan A

Mar 04, 2019

very good

By Белков Н В

Mar 14, 2019

It was great! Thank you so much!

By Warren P

Mar 05, 2019

Great overview and just the right amount of details for an introduction to the topic.

By Ajay K A

Jan 05, 2019

An excellent course which gives you a comprehensive introduction to what you need to know.

By Mousa S

Feb 26, 2019

good

By Dariusz P G

Mar 10, 2019

A great introductory course. Very engaging and I learned quite a bit despite being in IT for the past 18 years.

Thank you.

Kind regards,

Dariusz

p.s. It was a pity that the fora were not very active. I wrote loads and uploaded it but sometimes it felt as if I was doing all the running...

I had no feedback from anyone. A tad disheartening.

D.

By Emmanuel y t

Jul 11, 2018

very educative

By David B

Sep 10, 2018

Great introduction to the subject

By Víctor A F

Aug 31, 2018

Excelente Curso.

By Христя П

Oct 21, 2018

good experience:)

By Ibrahim B

Oct 27, 2018

great course

By Ben h

Oct 29, 2018

The course is accessible and gives a useful overview of the basics of information security.

By Sameer D

Apr 24, 2017

One of the Best Courses I've ever learned. The video's are crisp and full-fledged. Learned something new almost everyday. Thankyou Coursera and UOL. :) Looking forward to learn more on Information Security, Cyber Security and Digital Forensics.

By Pujarani P

Jan 03, 2018

Great content and absolutely awesome flow

By christian c T

May 24, 2017

awesome course and very instructive !

By Ra V

Oct 24, 2017

A great introduction to the feild of Information Security. I took it on a whim and waled away with a much better understanding of the process of IS.