Chevron Left
Back to Intellectual Humility: Theory

Intellectual Humility: Theory, The University of Edinburgh

4.5
183 ratings
46 reviews

About this Course

Faced with difficult questions people often tend to dismiss and marginalize dissent. Political and moral disagreements can be incredibly polarizing, and sometimes even dangerous. And whether it’s Christian fundamentalism, Islamic extremism, or militant atheism, religious dialogue remains tinted by arrogance, dogma, and ignorance. The world needs more people who are sensitive to reasons both for and against their beliefs, and are willing to consider the possibility that their political, religious and moral beliefs might be mistaken. The world needs more intellectual humility. But what is intellectual humility, anyway? And why do people seem so drawn toward intellectual arrogance? Psychologists, philosophers, theologians, and educationalists are now suggesting some answers. In this course we try to define intellectual humility and intellectual virtues in general, and ask how we know who is humble. All lectures are delivered by leading specialists, and the course is organised around a number of interesting readings and practical assignments which will help you address issues related to humility in your daily life. This course is a part of a series which explores the theory, the science and the applied issues surrounding intellectual humility (the latter two coming in June and November 2017). Completing all three courses will give you a broader understanding of this fascinating topic. Look for: • Intellectual Humility: Science - https://www.coursera.org/learn/intellectual-humility-science • Intellectual Humility: Practice - https://www.coursera.org/learn/intellectual-humility-practice You can also follow us on twitter: @EdiPhilOnline and #IHMOOC...

Top reviews

By SM

Dec 13, 2017

After this class I can say that I dwell on aspects I learned every day. Among the best MOOCs available. This should be required at colleges and universities. Highly recommend.

By JM

May 03, 2017

I am a computer scientist who hates waffle. This course presents a topic that I have no knowledge about in a way that is interesting , succinct and thought provoking

Filter by:

45 Reviews

By Sabrina Boorer

Oct 17, 2018

Brilliant course, a plethora of information on offer. Really thought and discussion provoking concepts.

By Felipe Alejandro Álvarez Osorio

Aug 21, 2018

a very good introduction to virtue epistemology and cognitive science.

By Wes D Sturdevant

Aug 16, 2018

I think I learned a bit that I'll keep with me for a long time. Really enjoyed the course. :)

By Rebecca Morris

Jul 09, 2018

This was a very helpful introduction to an area I wanted to know more about. I found the lectures enjoyable and the quizzes made sure I was paying attention!

By Derrick Jeand Rahbar

Mar 18, 2018

I

love the concept of this branch of philosophy!

By Tatiana Mondragón

Mar 13, 2018

Very interesting and well explained course with nice material and plenty of additional readings.

By Jose ALVES SILVA

Feb 01, 2018

I have words of recognition and admiration for those scholars who have had the courage to face and teach this subject. What we see in the academia , in the government and in the business and in the press is pride, contempt and arrogance. Many thanks to make this subject available in an honest and humble mode.

By Daniel Stamp

Jan 31, 2018

Hmmm ... the concept was great, and it really is an important aspect of intellectual pursuits in an age of fake news and internet facts (both comments are sarcastic), there must be honest deliberation on such issues. But as a course, it seems lacking in the mature "punch" needed to convey the right concpets to the learner, gets lost sometimes in the mundane aspects. But overall, worth while, just not a spectacular course experience.

By Roberto Rivola

Jan 14, 2018

thanks,everybody should do it :-)

By Stefanie Hempel

Dec 30, 2017

thank you so much, this was a wonderful overview over concepts and measures of intellectual humility, useful to me to keep myself on track in the face of peer-pressure. I wish you much success with on-going research, and teaching.