Chevron Left
Back to Intellectual Humility: Theory

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Intellectual Humility: Theory by The University of Edinburgh

4.5
213 ratings
53 reviews

About the Course

Faced with difficult questions people often tend to dismiss and marginalize dissent. Political and moral disagreements can be incredibly polarizing, and sometimes even dangerous. And whether it’s Christian fundamentalism, Islamic extremism, or militant atheism, religious dialogue remains tinted by arrogance, dogma, and ignorance. The world needs more people who are sensitive to reasons both for and against their beliefs, and are willing to consider the possibility that their political, religious and moral beliefs might be mistaken. The world needs more intellectual humility. But what is intellectual humility, anyway? And why do people seem so drawn toward intellectual arrogance? Psychologists, philosophers, theologians, and educationalists are now suggesting some answers. In this course we try to define intellectual humility and intellectual virtues in general, and ask how we know who is humble. All lectures are delivered by leading specialists, and the course is organised around a number of interesting readings and practical assignments which will help you address issues related to humility in your daily life. This course is a part of a series which explores the theory, the science and the applied issues surrounding intellectual humility (the latter two coming in June and November 2017). Completing all three courses will give you a broader understanding of this fascinating topic. Look for: • Intellectual Humility: Science - https://www.coursera.org/learn/intellectual-humility-science • Intellectual Humility: Practice - https://www.coursera.org/learn/intellectual-humility-practice You can also follow us on twitter: @EdiPhilOnline and #IHMOOC...

Top reviews

SM

Dec 13, 2017

After this class I can say that I dwell on aspects I learned every day. Among the best MOOCs available. This should be required at colleges and universities. Highly recommend.

JM

May 03, 2017

I am a computer scientist who hates waffle. This course presents a topic that I have no knowledge about in a way that is interesting , succinct and thought provoking

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 52 Reviews for Intellectual Humility: Theory

By maria n c s l

Dec 31, 2018

I loved this course, and others. now I'm sad because the coursera has changed platform and I can no longer copy lessons to study later. as I know almost nothing English I copied and then translated to study.

By Alice J

Feb 16, 2019

Very interesting course, even better if you pair it with the others on Intellectual Humility

By Ionut M C

Apr 10, 2019

Great content, enjoyed the talks.

By Abdulrahman M

Jan 07, 2019

This is an eye-opening course

By Wes D S

Aug 16, 2018

I think I learned a bit that I'll keep with me for a long time. Really enjoyed the course. :)

By Sabrina B

Oct 17, 2018

Brilliant course, a plethora of information on offer. Really thought and discussion provoking concepts.

By Paulo R V P

Dec 23, 2016

Excelente base teórica sobre a humildade intelectual, com aulas, textos e atividades.

By Diego B

Jan 20, 2017

Excelente curso, debemos lograr que cada día sean más los humildes intelectuales, de esa manera cambiaremos nuestro mundo.

By Sabīne

Jan 03, 2017

This course was quite informative and pleasurable. The short format perfectly fit the scope of the topic.

By Asif S B

Mar 14, 2017

One of the most important courses in Coursera!

By Scott M

Dec 13, 2017

After this class I can say that I dwell on aspects I learned every day. Among the best MOOCs available. This should be required at colleges and universities. Highly recommend.

By Peter C

Oct 24, 2017

I think this is a course for our time. Given the lack of civil engagement and thoughtful expressions of opinion.

By Pascal D

Jun 26, 2017

great course. enjoyed the videos and of course the material

By Brian J

Dec 19, 2017

This is an excellent course. I took it because I know that I am not very intellectually humble, and I would benefit personally from taking it. I found the course very useful in providing definitions for intellectual humility, and descriptions of why it is useful in developing more accurate views of the world by understanding the limitations in my own knowledge, accepting that other people have valuable things to say and understanding the dangers of intellectual arrogance.

By Lojain A

Dec 29, 2016

worth every minute of my time!

By Mehrdad M

Jun 20, 2017

I learned a lot!

By Oky T S

Dec 11, 2016

Superb !

By Tomek C

Feb 02, 2017

This course is really well put together. The lectures are easy to follow and explain all points very clearly. I appreciate the supplementary quizzes to help me cement the knowledge from the lectures. The course provides tons of extra resources, so that you can entrench yourself in the learning as much as you like--or you can just follow the lectures to learn the essential. My only recommendation would be to add more in-video questions.

By Verónica L R R

Feb 20, 2017

Well explained by all instructors, easy to understand and even entertaining.

By Courtney W

Jan 19, 2017

It was my first Coursera class and I liked it very much.

By Luke P

Dec 15, 2016

I found this course to be insightful and fair in it's teachings and understanding of what is a new developmental field of Philosophy. I also believe that much more research should be done into this and that many people could benefit from it and especially this course! Thanks!

By Tatiana M

Mar 13, 2018

Very interesting and well explained course with nice material and plenty of additional readings.

By Derrick J R

Mar 18, 2018

I

love the concept of this branch of philosophy!

By Tolulope V K

Aug 14, 2017

its top noch

By Howard C

Jun 10, 2017

Excellent course to go through and learn from.