Chevron Left
Back to International Law in Action: A Guide to the International Courts and Tribunals in The Hague

Learner Reviews & Feedback for International Law in Action: A Guide to the International Courts and Tribunals in The Hague by Universiteit Leiden

4.8
740 ratings
153 reviews

About the Course

International Law in Action explains the functions of each international court and tribunal present in The Hague, and it looks at how these institutions address contemporary problems. On the basis of selected cases, and through interviews with judges and lawyers, you will explore the role of these courts and tribunals and their potential to contribute to global justice. The first module of the course will investigate how judicial settlement is different from other more political forms of dispute settlement, such as negotiation and mediation. It offers a brief historical overview and introduces the judicial and arbitral bodies based in The Hague. In the remaining modules you will learn about the functions of these courts and tribunals, and some of the challenges and prospects that they face. Three cross-cutting themes tie together all of these modules: (i) The interaction between law and politics; (ii) The continuing role of State consent; and (iii) The ability of international courts and tribunals to protect the public interest and global values. This course offers you an opportunity to gain a better insight into the functions and features of the courts and tribunals present in The Hague. You will gain a familiarity with each court or tribunal. You will develop realistic expectations of their capacity to address contemporary problems and an awareness of their limitations. You will also be able to discuss some of their most prominent cases. If you would like to have a better understanding of international law in action in The Hague, this is definitely the course for you! This course is free to join and to participate in. There is the possibility to get a verified certificate for the course, which is a paid option. If you want a certificate, but are unable to pay for it, you can request financial aid via Coursera...

Top reviews

TD

Mar 24, 2019

Very informative and quite challenging\n\nThis course has provided me with material and resources to be able to think about larger ideas and the extent to which International Law is important.

SR

Jan 04, 2017

The course was extremely informative with a holistic perspective on the functioning of various international courts as well as special courts addressing international law issues.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 150 Reviews for International Law in Action: A Guide to the International Courts and Tribunals in The Hague

By Yukti R B

Dec 13, 2018

I loved the course material, it was very informative and my understanding of International Courts and Tribunals has definitely increased

By Bárbara P B V

Dec 14, 2018

It is a very good course with very good professors!

By Sooriya A

Dec 30, 2018

Preferable!

By Taylor D

Mar 24, 2019

Very informative and quite challenging

This course has provided me with material and resources to be able to think about larger ideas and the extent to which International Law is important.

By ORTHION

Apr 04, 2019

Je recommande vivement cet enseignement de grande qualité.

By Anita Y

Apr 15, 2019

Very useful course with various practical examples

By MIGUEL B E

Mar 13, 2019

congratulations to all the team of collaborators and the teachers, it was a nice experience that I intend to repeat it, a hug to all.

By Robert A d S

Mar 05, 2019

Great course and an amazing opportunity to learn more about International Law!

By Rubén B S

Apr 18, 2016

I really enjoyed this course... for those of us that love international law and international relations this one is a must to understand the complexity of the international community and the future of it.

By Michael M S

Aug 29, 2017

This is an excellent course; thorough and comprehensive made possible by competent presenters. Thank you very much for a rewarding experience. I have a better understanding of the functions and design of the courts and the PCA in the Hague. Thank you again.

By Hani M I B

Feb 18, 2016

I think this course will be an added value to any one has interest to understand the IL principles with more focus in the Hague.

By Colin P

Feb 18, 2016

Clear and well structured with excellent lecturers. Highly recommended.

By Canandus H

Jan 21, 2016

Great source of information, thank you!

By Anibal M

Jun 12, 2018

Excellent course. Provides a clear vision about the history, functions and future of the international courts of the Hague. I recommend it.

By Barbara A W

Feb 01, 2016

As a student of Criminal Justice and Law in the US, this course was very different from my other work. I found it very interesting and learned a great deal about how law and legal issues are handled around the world. The instructors did a great job, the course was well put together. Thanks for a new and exciting experience.

By Annesha K G

Feb 07, 2016

Excellent course. Instructors are design this course very efficiently. One has not to review course materials for the second time & before giving "Final examination", if a little attention paid at the first occasion. Thank you very much Coursera & University of Leiden. Looking forward to do more law courses with you. Thanks again.

By Ricardo C P

May 05, 2016

Excellent course. It provides a comprehensive overview of the International Courts, and the role they

By Sara L

Feb 22, 2016

I was already interested in international law, and this course made me want to learn even more about it.

By Emmanuelle H

Oct 07, 2017

The Professor really makes it easy to understand and to follow.

By Laurynas V P

Oct 28, 2017

The course is very interesting! What I like the most that there's an additional video lectures in which professors explains how and why things work like that (ICJ, PCA etc).

Looking forward to keep learning more!

By Rafael E R A

Jun 21, 2016

Great Course, totally recomended

By Gabriella P

May 25, 2018

Really good! Excellent!

By CHRISTINE M

Aug 16, 2016

Very well. I recommand. Thank you for this course.

By Christine G

Jan 20, 2016

Enjoyable..informative

By Rui M P

Jan 04, 2017

Fantastic guide to understant what is behind international law field.