Chevron Left
Back to Internet of Things: Communication Technologies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Internet of Things: Communication Technologies by University of California San Diego

4.4
160 ratings
33 reviews

About the Course

Have you wondered how “Things” talk to each other and the cloud? Do you understand the alternatives for conveying latency-sensitive real time data versus reliable signaling data? Building on the skills from the Sensing and Actuation course, we will explore protocols to exchange information between processors. In this course, you will learn how VoIP systems like Skype work and implement your own app for voice calls and text messages. You will start by using the Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) for session management. Next, you will learn how voice codecs such as Adaptive Multi Rate (AMR) are used in 3G networks and use them for voice traffic in your app. Learning Goals: After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Implement session initiation, management and termination on your DragonBoard™ 410c using SIP. 2. Discover other users and exchange device capabilities. 3. Compare and contrast narrowband and wideband codecs and experience the voice quality differences between them. 4. Implement and demonstrate VoIP calls using the DragonBoard 410c....

Top reviews

JC

Mar 07, 2018

I liked the topic of communications, I am interested in carrying out developments in IoT and intellectually explore all the components that make up the internet of things.

AA

Dec 23, 2015

One of the best University Course in IoT ecosystem . I really liked the assessment of week-4, open option to write about the innovative ideas on IoT.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 31 Reviews for Internet of Things: Communication Technologies

By Amrit C C S & F A

Dec 23, 2015

One of the best University Course in IoT ecosystem . I really liked the assessment of week-4, open option to write about the innovative ideas on IoT.

By Ayush G

Jan 04, 2019

Very Good

By Rajeev L t

Feb 10, 2019

It was awsome learning

By Muhammad S S

Oct 25, 2018

Good.

By CHRISTOPHER C

Jul 11, 2018

Awesome class!

By Syed R T

Jul 13, 2017

Strategically Designed..

By Supriya P

Dec 11, 2017

Very comprehensive &

By Harshil B

Nov 12, 2017

Excellent insignt on the VOIP a

By Edivaldo R d S

Sep 27, 2017

Excellent. Very grateful to UC San Diego and Coursera

By Hamza I

Jun 24, 2018

That course was really helpful and fruitful for me.

By Pranjal C

Apr 05, 2018

very good

By Omair A

Feb 08, 2018

awesome

By Shivanand R K

Jun 21, 2016

Great and Excellent thoughts and course material.

By Javier P C

Mar 07, 2018

I liked the topic of communications, I am interested in carrying out developments in IoT and intellectually explore all the components that make up the internet of things.

By Argishti D

Feb 04, 2016

Great course for IoT ,VoIP and EoIP professionals.

By marwa s

Nov 26, 2016

this course is very useful and i enjoyed for listen it

By Bryan R P

Feb 03, 2019

Was a good course. Videos lectures could be better prepared. The Codecs were a bit complex and needed extra reference material

By Kabiir K

Sep 13, 2018

Exceptional course. Instructors were amazing and thorough.

By Neelesh A

Dec 10, 2016

Very good. Could include more examples of making smart.

By Gopalakrishnan

Feb 15, 2016

Course is very good!

It would be better if the lessons are more on practical side or practical quiz output

By Sandhya V

Aug 31, 2016

Good course on communication strategies using VOIP which will be useful for the Capstone project.

By Adetoun R O

Jan 29, 2016

Friendly teaching style, clear accent...I had a great start!

By Jean-Luc B

Jan 01, 2016

Great course. Highly recommended!

By Jose T P

Feb 06, 2016

Me gusto mucho por la facilidad del material para aprender los temas

By Javier P M

Oct 08, 2018

There's a lot of useful information in this course, but it's communicated in a very clear way. I suggest the teachers focus on improving the audio codecs material . This are hard concepts to graps and I feel the institute should invest in animation or multimedia production to clarify this. It's all very informative though I feel I was not able to put to practice nor to fully understand the models. A list of references to videos or some other sources would have been very useful.

For the better part, the section about setting up linphone and using Android Studio to program a little VoIP app is very clear and exciting.