Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Structured Query Language (SQL)

Introduction to Structured Query Language (SQL), University of Michigan

4.8
751 ratings
190 reviews

About this Course

In this course, you'll walk through installation steps for installing a text editor, installing MAMP or XAMPP (or equivalent) and creating a MySql Database. You'll learn about single table queries and the basic syntax of the SQL language, as well as database design with multiple tables, foreign keys, and the JOIN operation. Lastly, you'll learn to model many-to-many relationships like those needed to represent users, roles, and courses....

Top reviews

By KH

Dec 03, 2018

Thank you for teaching assistants for helping me while I had questions and got stuck during the course. Thank you for Coursera and Dr Chuck and teaching assistants again for the opportunity to learn.

By DD

Dec 04, 2017

Professor Severance is top notch. He keeps the pace fast and the lessons bite sized. I've tried other SQL courses and dropped out because none of the others were as easy to understand and engaging.

Filter by:

193 Reviews

By Umair Abbasi

Dec 13, 2018

Great course for beginners. Dr. Chuck is the best.

By Ajay Sharma

Dec 12, 2018

BEst course i have ever taken about SQL, Instructor explanation is also very good and i like this course

By Zhengtao Xu

Dec 12, 2018

A good course for start to use MySQL. Cheers! Charles!

By Arjun Menon

Dec 08, 2018

It was really nice learning experience in a very short period of time

By Kwai Kwan Hui

Dec 03, 2018

Thank you for teaching assistants for helping me while I had questions and got stuck during the course. Thank you for Coursera and Dr Chuck and teaching assistants again for the opportunity to learn.

By Michelle Rimmel

Nov 30, 2018

Loved this course. I helped me to realize it's possible for me to think this way to learn it.

By Riaz Ali Shahid

Nov 19, 2018

I am starting today and waiting for Financial Aid i have applied. I am from Pakistani Middles-class family can't afford fees to getting good education from reputable university

By Patryk Laskowski

Nov 16, 2018

Charles Severance is a great teacher, it was a pleasure to be a part of that amazing course. It provides confidence doing first steps with SQL. HIGLY RECOMMENDED!

By Connie Shriver

Nov 11, 2018

This is a great course! Just what I was looking for in order to have an understanding of how SQL really works.

By Shauvick Das

Nov 08, 2018

Nice approach and good setup.