Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Classical Music

Introduction to Classical Music, Yale University

4.9
1,446 ratings
379 reviews

About this Course

Using a simple and enjoyable teaching style, this course introduces the novice listener to the wonders of classical music, from Bach fugues to Mozart symphonies to Puccini operas....

Top reviews

By ER

Mar 08, 2016

This course has a lot of information. It is well organized, and so many music illustrations. I am really enjoying this course, and will freely recommend it to anyone interested in classical music.

By RB

Jun 20, 2016

One of the best courses I have taken so far. The instructor is simply the best and the material is awesome. I learnt so much and could not stop until I finished. Great job Prof. You are the best.

Filter by:

367 Reviews

By Marie Fomina

Feb 19, 2019

Haven't finished watching yet, but absolutely love the material, surprised at times by the accuracy of the comparisons with architecture, art, philosophy and teology even. Professor Wright is incredible - so happy to have stumbled upon the course, and what luck it is to be introduced to music by such a talented teacher.

By Anne-Laure Bouvier

Feb 10, 2019

Great overview

By Aleksei Alekseev

Feb 07, 2019

Excellent course for beginner in classical music.

By Aleksandra

Feb 07, 2019

A very enjoyable course! Great content and awesome professor!

By Max Carleton

Jan 31, 2019

This was a very well put together course. Many areas of significant western classical music periods were discussed and shown here. The best part of this course was hearing about music that one may not of been as aware about but excellent as well.

By Sushil Melville

Jan 30, 2019

This is a great Course and a must for every Musician. Professor Wright Explains very Well

By Gustavo Valente

Jan 23, 2019

Excelente curso!!!!

By Melissa Cerrillo

Jan 16, 2019

Excelente curso. Bien planeado y explicado. Es entretenido y logra establecer empatía con el estudiante.

By Diana Carolina Piraquive Monroy

Jan 10, 2019

This is the best course ever !!! The teacher is great, I really enjoy the classes and it was helpfull for my research. Thanks! :)

By Derfoufi

Jan 09, 2019

Bonjour, j'ai beaucoup appris à travers ce cours. En plus des objectifs cités dans la présentation, j'ai découvert les points marquants de chaque période de la musique classique, l'architecture qui va avec, l'interaction des musiciens avec les autres artistes et leur recherche ardue du savoir là où il est pour la plupart d'entre eux.

Je vous remercie vivement et je vous félicite professeur Wright pour le grand effort pédagogique que vous avez déployé. Je remercie aussi l'université Yale qui a mis à notre disposition ce magnifique cours.

Salutations