Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to CSS3

Introduction to CSS3, University of Michigan

4.8
3,218 ratings
672 reviews

About this Course

The web today is almost unrecognizable from the early days of white pages with lists of blue links. Now, sites are designed with complex layouts, unique fonts, and customized color schemes. This course will show you the basics of Cascading Style Sheets (CSS3). The emphasis will be on learning how to write CSS rules, how to test code, and how to establish good programming habits. When done correctly, the styling of a webpage can take enhance your page. When done incorrectly the result can be worse than no styling at all. To ensure that your sites do not put up barriers for people with cognitive and/or physical disabilities, you will learn how to evaluate pages using the standardized POUR accessibility guidelines. Upon completion of the course, learners will be able to sketch a design for a given HTML page. Using that design they will use CSS to implement the design by adding fonts, colors, and layouts. This is the second course in the Web Design For Everybody specialization. Subsequent courses focus on adding interaction with JavaScript and enhancing the styling with responsive design. It will be difficult to complete this course if you do not have access to a laptop or desktop computer for the homework....

Top reviews

By AF

Dec 26, 2015

Excellent course! Well paced and the course really builds skills in using CSS3! Highly recommend this course to anyone looking to get a good grounding in CSS or who wants to go over the basics again.

By PA

Aug 20, 2018

The lecturer is a marvellous person. She makes the course very engaging. It takes you through most of the challenges I shall encounter as I progress in the field. I shall continue to study with her.

Filter by:

652 Reviews

By ALLISON JACKSON

Dec 12, 2018

Professor Colleen van Lent is wonderful at teaching this online course. She guides you through the process and supplements the information with links that weren't covered by the lecture. It's also a great idea to grade fellow students work to see how they code & to learn from them too.

I am grateful I found this program and look forward to learning Javascript!

By Tirthak Patel

Dec 11, 2018

No need to say !! 😊 .. as The specialization course is mind blowing. I am loving it and specially loving coursera for the platform.

Thank You very much to my instructor. 😊

By James Bradbury

Dec 08, 2018

Was great, much more challenging to stay focused than HTML to be honest, but I managed to tough it out. A lot to remember and I wonder how much of this is going to be fully automated work soon. Are we really going to be using code to style tables in the next five years or will it nearly universally be done via GUI. I guess it doesn't matter because this course does help. You get a good idea of why things work not just completely surface level stuff. Lots of opportunity to learn as you go. Honestly I'd just skip the reading and go straight to the assignments. Figure stuff out with google then go back to watch the lectures, I feel like it would have sunk in better for me if I'd done it in that order. Anyway to close this wall of text I'd say it was pretty decent, just do your stuff quickly so you can get peer reviewed.

By 余红杰

Dec 03, 2018

lack of animation part not so good

By Genís Torrents

Nov 30, 2018

A very clear and resourceful introduction to css

By Diego Mongay González

Nov 25, 2018

Very complete and good course

By Kathryn Gedamke

Nov 24, 2018

Excellent course. Wonderful instructor!

By Luis Alberto Zambrano Agusto

Nov 22, 2018

A great Course with a great teacher!

By Ellen Cox

Nov 16, 2018

The right kind of challenging.

By David Zeindler

Nov 15, 2018

A great introduction to CSS3