Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Psychology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Psychology by University of Toronto

4.9
2,306 ratings
731 reviews

About the Course

This course will highlight the most interesting experiments within the field of psychology, discussing the implications of those studies for our understanding of the human mind and human behavior. We will explore the brain and some of the cognitive abilities it supports like memory, learning, attention, perception and consciousness. We will examine human development - both in terms of growing up and growing old - and will discuss the manner in which the behavior of others affect our own thoughts and behavior. Finally we will discuss various forms of mental illness and the treatments that are used to help those who suffer from them. The fact of the matter is that humans routinely do amazing things without appreciating how interesting they are. However, we are also routinely influenced by people and events without always being aware of those influences. By the end of this course you will have gained a much better understanding and appreciation of who you are and how you work. And I can guarantee you that you'll learn things that you'll be telling your friends and family about, things that will fundamentally change the way you think of yourself and others. How can you resist that?!...

Top reviews

HW

Feb 17, 2017

I loved every minute of this course! Professor Joordens was very engaging and it was set at just the right pace. I'm looking forward to my next course already! The discussion forums are very helpful.

EC

Dec 16, 2016

good course. suitable for starters. I learnt some basics and something interesting. I now can analyse some social events from the psychology point of view. I understand humanity a little bit better.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 719 Reviews for Introduction to Psychology

By Natasha A

Feb 12, 2019

Very Interesting course, fine material, leading to the next level...

By Alexa G

Jun 15, 2019

I really liked this course because it was so interesting and allowed me to learn a lot of new things as well as refresh my knowledge.

Thank you very much Professor Joordens for your dedication.

Alexa Grabher

By Tushar P B

Jun 14, 2019

Best Introductory course .

By Anantha S

Jun 13, 2019

Very very useful and helpful.

Kudos to the professor!!

By Kathleen L

Jun 10, 2019

As a retired senior I have always wanted to take a Psychology course. I am glad this was the course I chose. The professor was great at explaining some very complicated concepts!

By

Jun 08, 2019

He is going to be my teacher at u of toronto so i enrolled out of curiousity,all i want to asay is i can't wait for the university to start

By Elisheva S

Jun 06, 2019

interesting, fun and easy to follow.

Done as a complete amateur, for enrichment.

I also found the links for future learning really wonderful, and introduced me to further sources of knowledge on the web. thank you!

By Maria K

Jun 05, 2019

I loved the course and I am now considering my major.

By

Jun 04, 2019

Чудовий курс! Дуже інформативно, весело і багато додаткових матеріалів!

Входить в топ 12 курсів курсери, і не дарма!

By Prakash C

Jun 04, 2019

Great content for kick start in psycology. Being student of engineering domain i found this course very insightful and thought provoking. Thankyou

By shuham k

Jun 02, 2019

VERY GOOD COURSE

By Ramanathan M

Jun 01, 2019

Excellent course. Learnt a lot from Mr Steve Joordens. Its a real pleasure going through every single lesson, listening to his soothing voice. Feel real good. My self esteem goes up!

By Ali I

May 30, 2019

It's a great course! i think every one should try this out because every person needs to know about their psychic how should they behave in a certain situation what makes you stand out in a group all these things and Professor Steve explained these concepts very well.

By Paula W

May 29, 2019

Loved this course! Professor Jordans was great and easy to listen to. I learned a lot and look forward to more!

By Gayle M

May 28, 2019

Great course! Best MOOC I've taken on Psychology so far. Steve Joordens is a fantastic teacher. Loved his style, easy to learn and he made each lesson funny as well as entertaining. I would take any of his courses in the future. Thanks for the memories.

By William G

May 27, 2019

This course has given me the opportunity of start my dream plans of introduce to Psychology field. Thank you Professor and coursera. You guys are wonder

By Jessica S

May 23, 2019

This was very helpful and extremely well organised.

By Esteban

May 23, 2019

Fantastic course, It was really helpful, I've learned very interesting stuffs. Steve is great. Thanks a lot !!!

By Karina L s t

May 21, 2019

Love the course and the way our techer let us know the concepts. Thank you.

By Tsang y k

May 19, 2019

Excellent course. Flexible time to study. Highly recommend.

By Shaenali V

May 19, 2019

Never have I ever willingly sat and followed course material for hours at a stretch. Professor Steve Joordens has an amazing way of teaching that is easy for beginners to understand and engages active learning. The course materials are concise and easy to follow; the external video and reading links are helpful at giving a well-rounded understanding of topics. I also want to highlight the Coursera learner support team who have been so incredibly supportive and prompt to help me throughout this course. Thank you all, I really enjoyed following this course!

By Evisa T

May 16, 2019

Thank you for the really nice course! Learned multiple things and the material is very nice!

By Lim S C

May 14, 2019

Content is good but length of each video is too long.

By Mario P

May 14, 2019

The course was very interesting. The way Prof. explained the themes was great, he made everything easy and accessible, even for someone like me that did not have any confidence with the field of study. Furthermore, the whole course was very well-structured and allow me to be prepared and motivated for every new lesson. Thanks.

By Bryan D

May 11, 2019

Excellent introductory course to Psychology.

Lectures tend to be longer than the suggested time frame but I think 15 min is not really optimal so to me, the 20 min lecture is alright.