Chevron Left
Back to Søren Kierkegaard - Subjectivity, Irony and the Crisis of Modernity

Søren Kierkegaard - Subjectivity, Irony and the Crisis of Modernity, University of Copenhagen

4.8
473 ratings
133 reviews

About this Course

It is often claimed that relativism, subjectivism and nihilism are typically modern philosophical problems that emerge with the breakdown of traditional values, customs and ways of life. The result is the absence of meaning, the lapse of religious faith, and feeling of alienation that is so widespread in modernity. The Danish thinker Søren Kierkegaard (1813-55) gave one of the most penetrating analyses of this complex phenomenon of modernity. But somewhat surprisingly he seeks insight into it not in any modern thinker but rather in an ancient one, the Greek philosopher Socrates. In this course created by former associate professor at the Søren Kierkegaard Research Centre, Jon Stewart, we will explore how Kierkegaard deals with the problems associated with relativism, the lack of meaning and the undermining of religious faith that are typical of modern life. His penetrating analyses are still highly relevant today and have been seen as insightful for the leading figures of Existentialism, Post-Structuralism and Post-Modernism....

Top reviews

By AB

Jul 03, 2018

An excellent course on Kierkegaard's use of irony. The teacher is great and the lectures are very interesting. I loved the interviews and the views of Copenhagen. Thanks a lot. Greetings from Madrid!

By GH

Aug 30, 2016

Really worthwhile and informative, in-depth review of Kierkegaard as a person, his life, and his works. Can be taken even if you've never touched philosophy before. Great production and selections.

Filter by:

130 Reviews

By Pascal Luke Shaw

Apr 19, 2019

Excellent lectures and a great introduction to a fascinating figure in philosophy and literature. I also enjoyed reading the book that accompanies the course.

By Breeze Santiago

Apr 11, 2019

A lot of information, without an engaging course and video. I liked what I was learning but, watching the videos quite literally put me to sleep.

By 潘天诗

Mar 07, 2019

this course not only introduced the life and academic work for Soren Kierkegaard, but also opened up a window to infinite truth. In our times, Socrates and Kierkegaard with their absolute negative and ironic dialects are even more inspiring.

By Rohit Mishra

Mar 06, 2019

This is one of the best MOOCs, I have came across over the years. Prof. Jon Stewart has made it lively by connecting the history of Copenhagen with the modern city. It feel like that the study is happening in and around the city. I really enjoyed the idea of outdoor lectures. The team has chosen these outdoor locations very carefully, which adds a value to the course. Thank you all for your hard work! :)

By Marija Zilinskaite

Feb 25, 2019

A great introduction to understanding Kierkegaard.

By Alyson Dame

Feb 13, 2019

I appreciated that this course felt accessible, but still academic and not "dumbed down" for a popular audience. The concepts were thought-provoking and clearly explained.

By Daniel Bilba

Feb 12, 2019

Great introduction course about Kierkegaard! I highly recommend this course for all friends of Kierkegaard. Congratulations Jan Stewart!

By Karen Parham

Feb 03, 2019

Excellent course. Engaging. Learned lots.

By Márcio Monteiro Rocha

Jan 13, 2019

Prezados amigos e amigas do Curso

Søren Kierkegaard - Subjetividade, Ironia e a Crise da Modernidade

Universidade de Copenhagen

Quero deixar aqui registrado meu profundo agradecimento por mais este excelente trabalho desenvolvido pela Universidade de Copenhagen, ministrado, com muita profundidade, pelo professor Jon Stewart, ex-professor associado do Centro de Pesquisas Søren Kierkegaard e recomendado pelo chefe de Estudos da Faculdade de Teologia da Universidade de Copenhagen, Carsten Selch Jensen. Agradeço à toda equipe do Coursera por mais um curso de extrema relevância para o atual cenário educacional brasileiro. Estou muito satisfeito com esta nova oportunidade de ampliação deste ecossistema de aprendizagem, promovendo novas possibilidades de conexão com os excelentes conteúdos da Universidade de Copenhagen.

Muito obrigado pela valiosa oportunidade!

Forte Abraço!

Márcio Monteiro Rocha

By Jhoan Sebastian David Giraldo

Jan 13, 2019

It's a great course on Kierkegaard. He really is very guiding about the importance of this thinker, as the father of contemporary existentialism, his rescue of Socrates, his struggle against the Danish church, his incursion into individualism without neglecting social conditions. In addition, Jon Stewart is well known within the interpretive field of Kierkegaard. It is worth taking the course. The exams are a bit lax, but the final paper proposes an interesting topic, which broadens the discussion.