Chevron Left
Back to The Beauty of Kunqu Opera

The Beauty of Kunqu Opera, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

4.8
116 ratings
37 reviews

About this Course

This course will focus on the historical and cultural background, literary aesthetics, music, and performance of Kunqu, China’s classical opera. After viewing the lecture videos presented by scholars and renowned maestros in the field of Kunqu, students’ understanding and appreciation of Chinese performing arts, classical literature and traditional culture will be enhanced....

Top reviews

By XZ

Jun 08, 2017

The overall structure is fine. But it would be better if the answers and, if any, explanation for quiz are available.

By YF

May 19, 2016

There are lots of very nice guest lecturers who are expert performers of Kunqu Opera. Very beneficial and enjoyable.

Filter by:

35 Reviews

By Samuel Wright

Sep 08, 2018

An amazing and beautiful course.

By libra

May 15, 2018

能提供名家选段的视频更好

By Jonathan Golland

Mar 04, 2018

interesting course. Although I fail to see the function or use this has unless I wanted to write a Chinese opera! It was in Mandarin so I had to use subtitles. I still learned a lot about Chinese culture.

By PEIJUAN JIANG

Feb 17, 2018

Amazing! Quite enjoy this course!

By Sofia Klimov

Dec 23, 2017

Unexpected but I really loved it!! Super interesting!!

By lei wang

Nov 20, 2017

great class!

By Clay Burell

Sep 24, 2017

Every week was an informative delight. Highly recommended!

By Liang Yitao

Sep 21, 2017

nice lecture and great presentation with detailed Introduction

By 439428155@qq.com

Aug 28, 2017

很通俗易懂,也很有趣味性。

By 素 黫

Aug 05, 2017

I highly admired this course. Although I am Chinese, I am not that sure I would like Kunqu Opera at the beginning. At first, I learn this is because my teacher's command, but I have to say, there are so many things that surprised me that I never know that when Modern and Kunqu Opera combined together create that kind of beauty. So Chinese style, and so attractive. All those little details are matter. The arrangement of the lessons are reasonable. After understanding Kunqu, the combination is like a miracle. I love it so much.