Chevron Left
Back to Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects, McMaster University

4.8
38,790 ratings
11,307 reviews

About this Course

This course gives you easy access to the invaluable learning techniques used by experts in art, music, literature, math, science, sports, and many other disciplines. We’ll learn about the how the brain uses two very different learning modes and how it encapsulates (“chunks”) information. We’ll also cover illusions of learning, memory techniques, dealing with procrastination, and best practices shown by research to be most effective in helping you master tough subjects. Using these approaches, no matter what your skill levels in topics you would like to master, you can change your thinking and change your life. If you’re already an expert, this peep under the mental hood will give you ideas for: turbocharging successful learning, including counter-intuitive test-taking tips and insights that will help you make the best use of your time on homework and problem sets. If you’re struggling, you’ll see a structured treasure trove of practical techniques that walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you’ve ever wanted to become better at anything, this course will help serve as your guide. This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or prior to, its companion course, Mindshift. (Learning How to Learn is more learning focused, and Mindshift is more career focused.) To join the fully translated Portuguese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprender To join the fully translated Spanish version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprendiendo-a-aprender To join the fully translated Chinese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/ruhe-xuexi...

Top reviews

By GA

Jul 21, 2017

Really useful insights had been provided by this course. No price can be put on this valuable resource. It's beyond anything valuable. Thank you very much for making this course. God Bless Everyone :)

By SS

Jan 10, 2018

This course was really good. I learnt alot about learning. I wished I took something like this before starting university. But now it also helps me to learn new things and I finally don't feel stupid.

Filter by:

11,048 Reviews

By Mason Bryant

Dec 10, 2018

weird

By Steve Schatz

Dec 10, 2018

I can't even begin to describe how helpful this course was for me. In school, I thought I had a learning disability. My reading comprehension was poor, my memory was not that great. I had terrible study habits.

I didn't do that great at tests...

What this course has helped me conclude is that, I just didn't know how to learn very well. In fact, I don't think schools teach this enough to students when they are learning to form their "very first chunks".

Barbara Oakley and Dr. Terry Sejnowski have broken down the learning process and have explained it in a very simple way, using a ton of visual examples, (which by the way is a great way to retain information) and have given me a deeper understanding of using creative learning techniques to simply learning better.

They are also very passionate and excited about teaching and that makes a huge difference. They are wonderful instructors and enjoy what they do. It shows in their lectures and course material. Their videos are funny and it just made everything so much more enjoyable.

My biggest take away from this course is that you can use science to explain how something works, but learning - that's where it becomes personal. It is a journey that is special to you, that is unique to you and only you. And if you know how to do it better, you're rewarding yourself, and you will enjoy everything you do and learn much better moving forward in your life.

Take this class. I loved it!

By Dmitriy

Dec 09, 2018

OMG!!!

If I knew this before...

By Marcel Christian Staiger

Dec 09, 2018

I'd expected a little more Techniques. But what was part of the course, was really well selected!

By Dmytro Voloshyn

Dec 09, 2018

With no exaggeration, this course changed my life

By Darshna Rekha

Dec 08, 2018

It is a great course and a life time learning. It explores all the concepts that will help in personal and professional growth. I recommend everyone who is looking for a way to learn how to learn and stop procrastinating. The assignments are intelligently modeled.

By Davis Katihabwa

Dec 08, 2018

I think this is not only the most exceting course when you are taking it but also the most important course because It prepares and equipes you to learn any kind of courses or disciplines without fustracting and content yourself to apply the techniques and tools found by experts!!

I can garantuee your success in your learning journey after finishing this course!!

By Vilas Jagtap

Dec 07, 2018

Great course and really enjoyed the learning process. Inputs about brain and its working are valuable. Shall try and use the techniques in all my future studies.

By MAMI AMINE

Dec 07, 2018

رائع

By Mohammad Haidarasl

Dec 07, 2018

I highly recommend this course to anybody wanting to learn the inner workings of their mind and how to learn properly. This course can help you in any field and any endeavor.