Chevron Left
Back to Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects by McMaster University

4.8
45,664 ratings
12,838 reviews

About the Course

This course gives you easy access to the invaluable learning techniques used by experts in art, music, literature, math, science, sports, and many other disciplines. We’ll learn about the how the brain uses two very different learning modes and how it encapsulates (“chunks”) information. We’ll also cover illusions of learning, memory techniques, dealing with procrastination, and best practices shown by research to be most effective in helping you master tough subjects. Using these approaches, no matter what your skill levels in topics you would like to master, you can change your thinking and change your life. If you’re already an expert, this peep under the mental hood will give you ideas for: turbocharging successful learning, including counter-intuitive test-taking tips and insights that will help you make the best use of your time on homework and problem sets. If you’re struggling, you’ll see a structured treasure trove of practical techniques that walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you’ve ever wanted to become better at anything, this course will help serve as your guide. This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or prior to, its companion course, Mindshift. (Learning How to Learn is more learning focused, and Mindshift is more career focused.) To join the fully translated Portuguese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprender To join the fully translated Spanish version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprendiendo-a-aprender To join the fully translated Chinese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/ruhe-xuexi...

Top reviews

AA

Sep 14, 2015

It is great learning course brought me clear understanding strong structure of how to learn more effective. I regret only about one, that I didn't passed this course when I started learning at school.

AK

Aug 18, 2017

It was a wonderful journey of learning how to learn. Simple and effective. Wish i had come across something like this a little early in life. But better late than never. Keep up the good work. Thanks.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 12,573 Reviews for Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

By ADSG101

Jan 06, 2019

This is one of the rewarding courses. I highly recommend this course as it will add to both your professional and personal life. The information and techniques provided will have a great impact on your life for years to come. I believe that starting with this course is a smart decision as it will be very beneficial in learning other courses.

By Farhad M M A

Jan 06, 2019

I've had a magical journey through learning how to learn new things during this course and enjoyed every moment of it! Thank you dear Prof. Oakley for giving me such a great opportunity. First I read your book "A Mind For Numbers." I think Everyone should read it! So interesting and useful. Also thanks a lot Dr. Sejnowski for the precious information about keeping our new neurons alive, via learning and exercise. :)

By Liset P P M

Jan 08, 2019

One of the best courses ever!

By Gururaj V J

Jan 09, 2019

Good explanation and I have learnt nice techniques to learn difficult subjects. Will apply in my life.

By Dagmara W

Jan 08, 2019

Great knowledge about how to learn effectively and how to use in practices various of very us fulls methods.

By Brian B

Jan 08, 2019

Definite eye opener.

Think back to junior high (Grade 7 or 8) and think how you approached homework. Look at a problem, look at the solution; "pfft, I got this, this stuff's easy" Honours certificate please!

But then you got to high school and thought, "hmm, I kinda got this stuff, I should be good for the test" and thus proceed to cram your way through every exam.

Marks? Varied, from yeah, not bad to absolutely MEH...

University? More of the same. Your job, a little better, but kind of FEEL meh...

It's ok, you just didn't know how to study properly.

This course will teach you how. And more importantly--at least for me--the why. As you'll see CONTEXT MATTERS A WHOLE BUNCH when you're tyring to remember stuff.

And couldn't do this review without a shout out to Barb (the girl in all the videos). Endearing, encouraging, so knowledgeable. Check out her interviews she's really good.

By Swattik C

Jan 08, 2019

Great Tips and Guidance given by the teachers to help us all master tough subjects.

By Tommy S

Jan 09, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. It starts off with basic topics we are all familiar with and then goes into how the mind works and how we can make the most out of learning. I really liked the course because it actually gave methods in how to learn (like the memory palace).

By Nkululeko N

Jan 09, 2019

I don't know what to say. I am so happy! This is an eye opener. If you really want to improve in your life and career then this is the first thing that you must consider. The course has broaden up mind with much significant information and skills that I will need to face my future giants.

By LUCIANA M A

Jan 07, 2019

I loved this course! Full of useful and sound recommendations. Based on real science. I'm planning on applying it to my teaching and to the several subjects I'm constantly learning. I personally don't like the several mentions to zombies and alike, for a couple of times it made me question if the course was for teenagers (I'm 40 yo!). But the information is very well presented and valuable, I would definitely recommend.

By Houssine

Jan 08, 2019

very nice Mooc

By Tuan H T

Jan 08, 2019

good speaker much details

By Tina L O Z

Jan 08, 2019

This was a fantastic course they I continually recommend to anyone who is thinking of taking an online course. While I have been teaching for over 20 years, I rank this in the top 5 courses I have ever taken.

By Doan P H

Jan 09, 2019

I learnt so much from this course. Love it.

By Wenzhi

Jan 09, 2019

I wish I could take this course earlier...

By joao v l

Jan 10, 2019

Courses like this should be a mandatory subject in every school or company and should be reviewed every 6 months.

By Cheneil A

Jan 10, 2019

I loved both the professors in this course, especially Dr. Barbara Oakley. Her enthusiasm for the material and goofy but genuine personality kept me engaged. I also found the material covered here very useful - I have already started applying it in my learning of guitar and Chinese - and I plan on retaking the course in the future when I go back for my second degree.

By Kristjano M

Jan 10, 2019

Excellent course, great info. A must for everyone at every step of their career

By Ann m

Jan 10, 2019

Learning how to learn powerful mental tool help me slove the tough in learning

By Olivia E

Jan 09, 2019

An insightful and invaluable little course that demystifies the learning process.

By Sam M

Jan 11, 2019

Such an amazing course, I highly recommend this course to everyone. If you want to become sharper, improve your memory or just see where your at and want to learn new things, this course gives you the tools and frame of mind to be able to learn anything competently and efficiently.

By Raj N

Jan 11, 2019

This course though light and breezy is full of very useful and surprising insights into how the brain works and how we can use simple practical techniques to learn and understand things better.

This course is suitable for all branches of study, academic, non-academic.

I highly recommend this course and also Barbara Oakley's book, 'A Mind For Numbers'

By William

Jan 11, 2019

Amazing tips. Very encouraging!

By Zehra

Jan 11, 2019

Benim için çok yardımcı oldu. Emekinizi, değerli zamanınızı ve değerli bilgilerinizi paylaştığınız için teşekkür ederiz.

By Paul M

Jan 11, 2019

Great course. Easy to watch and complete the required components.