Chevron Left
Back to Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects by McMaster University

4.8
45,596 ratings
12,819 reviews

About the Course

This course gives you easy access to the invaluable learning techniques used by experts in art, music, literature, math, science, sports, and many other disciplines. We’ll learn about the how the brain uses two very different learning modes and how it encapsulates (“chunks”) information. We’ll also cover illusions of learning, memory techniques, dealing with procrastination, and best practices shown by research to be most effective in helping you master tough subjects. Using these approaches, no matter what your skill levels in topics you would like to master, you can change your thinking and change your life. If you’re already an expert, this peep under the mental hood will give you ideas for: turbocharging successful learning, including counter-intuitive test-taking tips and insights that will help you make the best use of your time on homework and problem sets. If you’re struggling, you’ll see a structured treasure trove of practical techniques that walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you’ve ever wanted to become better at anything, this course will help serve as your guide. This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or prior to, its companion course, Mindshift. (Learning How to Learn is more learning focused, and Mindshift is more career focused.) To join the fully translated Portuguese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprender To join the fully translated Spanish version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprendiendo-a-aprender To join the fully translated Chinese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/ruhe-xuexi...

Top reviews

EB

May 20, 2016

I found this course incredibly useful and practical. It has not only helped me better understand the process of learning but it has also given me valuable tools in how to optimize my learning process.

AK

Aug 18, 2017

It was a wonderful journey of learning how to learn. Simple and effective. Wish i had come across something like this a little early in life. But better late than never. Keep up the good work. Thanks.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 12,565 Reviews for Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

By MD. R A

Nov 25, 2018

Its really a more than five star course to upgrade you memory and learning.

By Sandeep S

Nov 09, 2018

It's a must course for everyone. It's like if you want to cut a tree and you have a blunt blade. It will take quiet some time. Now this course make your blade sharper. Good luck.

By Eleni M

Nov 10, 2018

Learnt so much! Wonderful course!

By Sofía B A

Nov 08, 2018

Really useful every student should see this video

By Бондарева Т С

Nov 10, 2018

Супер! Много полезного для студента, которому ещё многое предстоит!)

By amine e

Nov 08, 2018

This is such a great course that taught alot of things and technics to solve problems and tests

By jason j

Nov 08, 2018

this course has definitely taught me some of the best methods of studying and test taking. I highly recommend it.

By Mohamad B J a

Nov 09, 2018

amazing

By Dingchao H

Nov 10, 2018

Great course, full of useful tips. Very helpful. Many thanks.

By Jorge A

Nov 26, 2018

First of all, thanks for everything, Coursera!! I can't even put it into words how much what I've learned here is helping me! I'd like to thank you all from the bottom of my heart! I'm simply overwhelmed with many things I simply had no idea that could be blocking my learning path! I can't wait to see the other coursera's videos!

Thanks for the knowledge!!

Best wishes!!

By Muhammad A

Nov 26, 2018

One of the best to help you out how to over come learning problems

By Ibrahim B

Nov 25, 2018

Very interesting course and materials, great instructors.

I just loved this course

By Ilya G

Nov 26, 2018

This course is amazing! It provides a scientifically supported practical toolkit for successful learning. I wish I could learn it before my academic studies because it would definitely make my life easier and my learning experience more effective and relaxed. Fortunately, now I can share it with my children and also use some insights for achieving my career goals and "sharpening the saw". Thanks a lot, Barb and Terry!

By Andrea B

Nov 26, 2018

Great course!!

By Reilley L

Nov 27, 2018

The material is presented in a pretty interesting manner. I very much so like the format with the shorter videos instead of huge, 45 minute videos that can't be finished in one sitting. Much thanks to Dr. Oakley and Dr. Sejnowski.

By Mouade R

Nov 25, 2018

i wish to all of you live this experience

By Oussama o

Nov 26, 2018

It was awesome

By Gemayel P

Nov 11, 2018

This course is for anyone trying to learn a new skill set as well as improve ones current position in life in general. For anyone trying to jump start TRUE change in your life it takes HARD WORK and DEDICATION. The tools learnt in this course can be applied in any circumstance the question is are you willing to try them for yourself.

By Сорока М И

Nov 11, 2018

SUPER COURSE

By Ivan D

Nov 11, 2018

Amazing course... I suggest it to anyone

By Angélica

Nov 11, 2018

Life changing

By Vini

Nov 11, 2018

This course changed the way I approach studying. Using this advice - specially spaced repetition and practice testing - allowed me to study much more efficiently. Great instructors and great material, highly recommended.

By Gabriel A

Nov 12, 2018

This is a very informative course, introducing you to a bit of neuroscience to back the information with scientific evidences and it is introduced in a way everybody could understand. It is really a course I can recommend to everyone wanting to have more efficient ways of learning and looking for scientific backings for those habits.

By Sheila B

Nov 12, 2018

This was a fantastic course--one that I wish I had taken years ago. The nuns always told me I shouldn't cram for a test, but they never really told me why. Not waiting till the last minute was an admonition right up there with "Eat everything off your plate" and "be nice to your sister." If I had know that that I would actually learn more, probably study less in the long run and do far better in school if I studied at regular intervals and actually tried to recall the material--as opposed to highlighting text and re-reading chapters--I would be less inclined to put homework and studying off till the last minute. And I would have done far better in school and remembered much more from my classes. This course is a must for anyone who wants to be a better learner, whether it be in math and science or in the humanities.

By Pavel V

Nov 11, 2018

Highly recommending! Such useful course!