Chevron Left
Back to Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects by McMaster University

4.8
45,564 ratings
12,814 reviews

About the Course

This course gives you easy access to the invaluable learning techniques used by experts in art, music, literature, math, science, sports, and many other disciplines. We’ll learn about the how the brain uses two very different learning modes and how it encapsulates (“chunks”) information. We’ll also cover illusions of learning, memory techniques, dealing with procrastination, and best practices shown by research to be most effective in helping you master tough subjects. Using these approaches, no matter what your skill levels in topics you would like to master, you can change your thinking and change your life. If you’re already an expert, this peep under the mental hood will give you ideas for: turbocharging successful learning, including counter-intuitive test-taking tips and insights that will help you make the best use of your time on homework and problem sets. If you’re struggling, you’ll see a structured treasure trove of practical techniques that walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you’ve ever wanted to become better at anything, this course will help serve as your guide. This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or prior to, its companion course, Mindshift. (Learning How to Learn is more learning focused, and Mindshift is more career focused.) To join the fully translated Portuguese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprender To join the fully translated Spanish version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprendiendo-a-aprender To join the fully translated Chinese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/ruhe-xuexi...

Top reviews

BH

Nov 14, 2015

I found this course to be incredibly helpful. I am 33 and wish that I would have been taught a more efficient way of learning many years ago. There are definitely some great takeaways from this class.

AA

Sep 14, 2015

It is great learning course brought me clear understanding strong structure of how to learn more effective. I regret only about one, that I didn't passed this course when I started learning at school.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 12,554 Reviews for Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

By My I

Oct 03, 2015

This is an amazing class. It makes my professional life easy as well as my personal life. Everybody should take this class, and also the teachers are brilliant about all subjects that we see in class.

By Kunal G

Feb 04, 2016

I specially like the optional interviews. These learning case studies are quite insightful and you might just find a something that you can relate to, which might help in the grand scheme of things :)

By Артимёнок П

Jul 12, 2019

Thanks for the valuable advice.

By Maria A

Aug 04, 2019

Thank you for a very helpful and meaningful course. I shall use the knowledge that I have learned here during my future studies! My boyfriend and I did this course together and he found it very helpful too :p

Yes, I am the boyfriend. It is true! :P

By Jared R

Oct 23, 2017

This Course Is awesome it gave me a new look on how my brain works and that i should actually take breaks which is probably why i get frustrated. I am Excited to Put what i have learned into practice.

By Barry H

Nov 14, 2015

I found this course to be incredibly helpful. I am 33 and wish that I would have been taught a more efficient way of learning many years ago. There are definitely some great takeaways from this class.

By nadia d

Apr 27, 2017

i think the coming classes will be great more than that ... but it's good

By Antonello C

Oct 19, 2018

Extremely boring and it doesn't provide anything really practical. All the concepts(that are really basic) could fit in 10 or 15 A4 pages, instead they wasted my time with an enormous amount of videos with no real reason. A waste of time. I can't understand why this course is surrounded by such a hype as the one it gets. A waste of time.

By Dilyara S

Apr 16, 2017

plenty of userful information about how brain works in terms of learning and lots of userful tricks how to organize yourself to be as much efficient as possible!

By Andres f M M

Dec 10, 2018

I think this course is powerfull because, it teach fundamentals tips, modes and many things related to the process of learning, since your mastered an idea until you keep the idea and reforce the knowledge not only using the memmory but also keeping in mind other perspectives, solution's, and related thinks with other carrers

By Amine B

Dec 11, 2018

Amazing!!

This is what high schools and colleges should make mandatory as a first course for every year of any

curriculum.

.

By Neetal P

Dec 12, 2018

Great instructors and very useful information. Every student should learn these methodologies!

By Alberto L

Dec 10, 2018

Amazingly useful, a must for everyone at any age.

By Dương N

Dec 11, 2018

Thanks so much

By Michael S

Dec 10, 2018

This course is fantastic, it has opened up my creative side and although it is early days, I believe it can only get better. Having completed the course, a lot of the material feels familiar to me, possibly because it makes so much sense. I believe that it will help me in many areas of my life.

By Tiago F d S

Dec 10, 2018

A great course that helps you to improve your ability to learn new things, improve your time management and to gain more confidence.

By Arnav K

Dec 11, 2018

I really enjoyed this course and found the lessons to be invaluable. I have always been very curious and an enthusiastic learner but never approached my learning in a strategic fashion. This course has equipped me with many tools to improve the efficiency and efficacy of my learning which I have already begun to implement. Barabara Oakley is also a wonderful course director!

By Marius V

Dec 10, 2018

This course is well worth your time. Highly recommended!

By Dunja A

Dec 12, 2018

This course is very useful for re-establishing what you already know about learning, for grasping fresh and new ideas and perspectives on learning and it is also useful for establishing a new "learning practice" or breaking bad learning habits. I have enjoyed it and I highly recommend it!

By Andrew M

Dec 12, 2018

Very interesting course.

By Robert H

Dec 10, 2018

Quite addictive this course. I loved it and its so useful and applicable. The material, videos and exercises, is really inspiring to me. Thank you Barbara, Terry and your team !

By Carmen M J A

Dec 11, 2018

I think it's a very interesting course, which gives tools to be able to learn better. it also explains how the brain works in an easy way to make changes.

By Мария К

Dec 11, 2018

Искала материал по теме как победить прокрастинацию. Данный курс очень сильно помог. Спасибо тем, кто приложил к нему руку. Очень понравилась Barbara Oakley. Буду искать другие курсы, соавтором которых она является

By Mouade R

Nov 25, 2018

i wish to all of you live this experience

By Ilya G

Nov 26, 2018

This course is amazing! It provides a scientifically supported practical toolkit for successful learning. I wish I could learn it before my academic studies because it would definitely make my life easier and my learning experience more effective and relaxed. Fortunately, now I can share it with my children and also use some insights for achieving my career goals and "sharpening the saw". Thanks a lot, Barb and Terry!