Chevron Left
Back to Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects by McMaster University

4.8
45,787 ratings
12,865 reviews

About the Course

This course gives you easy access to the invaluable learning techniques used by experts in art, music, literature, math, science, sports, and many other disciplines. We’ll learn about the how the brain uses two very different learning modes and how it encapsulates (“chunks”) information. We’ll also cover illusions of learning, memory techniques, dealing with procrastination, and best practices shown by research to be most effective in helping you master tough subjects. Using these approaches, no matter what your skill levels in topics you would like to master, you can change your thinking and change your life. If you’re already an expert, this peep under the mental hood will give you ideas for: turbocharging successful learning, including counter-intuitive test-taking tips and insights that will help you make the best use of your time on homework and problem sets. If you’re struggling, you’ll see a structured treasure trove of practical techniques that walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you’ve ever wanted to become better at anything, this course will help serve as your guide. This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or prior to, its companion course, Mindshift. (Learning How to Learn is more learning focused, and Mindshift is more career focused.) To join the fully translated Portuguese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprender To join the fully translated Spanish version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprendiendo-a-aprender To join the fully translated Chinese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/ruhe-xuexi...

Top reviews

EA

Apr 29, 2017

This was a great course! I learned a number of different techniques and strategies for learning more effectively that I can't wait to implement in my studies. I highly recommend Learning How to Learn.

BA

Nov 06, 2016

Amazing course, I learned a lot of new techniques for self motivation, and effecient learning. Now, I feel more confident to take further steps in improving and developing myself. Thank you so much :)

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 12,600 Reviews for Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

By Monica J

Jan 16, 2019

Wonderful course to understand how to build sessions for different learners, what to incorporate in learning for maximising learning. From a student perspective I think a lot of what we have done in school but forget to do as adult learners, that we still need to be the child when it comes to learning

By MUHAMMAD A

Jan 15, 2019

An excellent course . Techniques are very useful which include in course.

By Weiyong X

Jan 14, 2019

This course is very helpful. I should really start applying these techniques to my own learning!

By Lin J

Jan 14, 2019

很赞,改变了自己对学习的很多看法,能够让自己更好地,更有效率地安排时间和进行学习。

By idani m

Jan 15, 2019

Il est très bien ce cours, j'ai eu des conseils pour stimuler ma mémoire et éviter la procrastination.

By Daniela D

Jan 15, 2019

This course gave me a new perspective on how to approach learning anything new from now on. Would have loved to have been aware of the concepts and ideas discussed in these chapters while I was still in school!

By Amr E

Jan 16, 2019

Amazing and useful course..it’s really help me

By Mohamed S M A H

Jan 14, 2019

I like it too much it is very helpful material ....thank you

By Vsevolod K

Jan 16, 2019

Powerful mental tools!

By Charlotte R

Jan 16, 2019

Great course! Fun and easy to work into my schedule with a lot of great tools for learning.

By Zach H

Jan 14, 2019

This course does something that I think every education system should use as a hard foundation to their teaching philosophy, it teaches people how to learn effectively and efficiently. It is incredibly frustrating that in my 18+ years as a student through primary education and on to graduate levels, I was never meaningfully taught how to study for myself but this course has done an outstanding job of doing just that. This should be required learning for every education system.

By Juan C H V

Jan 15, 2019

Debo decir que es un excelente curso, con dos excelentes profesores.

By Eugene C

Jan 15, 2019

Fun class; thanks for the info :-)

By Ibrahim B

Jan 15, 2019

Amazing and to useful

Thanks

By Abhishek S

Jan 16, 2019

A great learning experience. Methods and techniques to learning and retaining what you leaned is very beautifully explained. This course should be a mandatory part in curriculum of of students.

By Charles C

Jan 14, 2019

I have learnt a lot of great ideas from this course.Thank two professors and many great people for great job.

By Kincso B

Jan 15, 2019

Excellent course.

By Wesley H B

Jan 17, 2019

I believe everyone that is not familiar with the ideas in this course should take this. It is helpful for everything you do in life basically. It provides very practical tips and tricks while at the same time explaining the science behind them.

By mehran s

Jan 18, 2019

This course causes me to change my whole thinking about myself and possibilities that i can reach in my life.

This course teach, you can learn everything you want so you can be everything you want to be.

By Himanshu S

Jan 18, 2019

This is the first course you should do from Coursera and probably before you start your college education. Gets you prepped up for the long run.

By Catalina S B

Jan 17, 2019

The Best Course and the best and wisest teacher

By Natalia R

Jan 18, 2019

I was profoundly impressed by this course presented by these two amazing and interesting individuals who spent their time and energy on helping others to improve their learning skills! Barbara Oakley is a masterful story teller, - so engaging! Her kindness and good nature shine through in her narrative. Thank you so much!

By Luyen D T

Jan 18, 2019

Helpful and Great course! Thank Dr. Barbara Oakley and Dr. Terrence Sejnowski so much!

By Honeya O

Jan 17, 2019

One of the most important courses I've ever taken... and I've already recommended this to nearly a dozen people.

I strongly feel this should be a mandatory prerequisite at every stage of formalized education (middle-school, high school, college, grad school, etc...)

By hamza l

Jan 16, 2019

life changing