Chevron Left
Back to Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects by McMaster University

4.8
45,596 ratings
12,819 reviews

About the Course

This course gives you easy access to the invaluable learning techniques used by experts in art, music, literature, math, science, sports, and many other disciplines. We’ll learn about the how the brain uses two very different learning modes and how it encapsulates (“chunks”) information. We’ll also cover illusions of learning, memory techniques, dealing with procrastination, and best practices shown by research to be most effective in helping you master tough subjects. Using these approaches, no matter what your skill levels in topics you would like to master, you can change your thinking and change your life. If you’re already an expert, this peep under the mental hood will give you ideas for: turbocharging successful learning, including counter-intuitive test-taking tips and insights that will help you make the best use of your time on homework and problem sets. If you’re struggling, you’ll see a structured treasure trove of practical techniques that walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you’ve ever wanted to become better at anything, this course will help serve as your guide. This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or prior to, its companion course, Mindshift. (Learning How to Learn is more learning focused, and Mindshift is more career focused.) To join the fully translated Portuguese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprender To join the fully translated Spanish version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprendiendo-a-aprender To join the fully translated Chinese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/ruhe-xuexi...

Top reviews

EB

May 20, 2016

I found this course incredibly useful and practical. It has not only helped me better understand the process of learning but it has also given me valuable tools in how to optimize my learning process.

AK

Aug 18, 2017

It was a wonderful journey of learning how to learn. Simple and effective. Wish i had come across something like this a little early in life. But better late than never. Keep up the good work. Thanks.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 12,567 Reviews for Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

By

Nov 27, 2018

This is an amazing course, i would definitely advice students who are't doing so well in school or university to take this course. As it goes through how you can study more effectively and ace a test. Thank you so much Barbra Okely as this has helped in learning new courses

By andres c l s

Nov 28, 2018

the best experince ever

By ThangTQ12@fsoft.com.vn

Nov 29, 2018

Thank you very much Dr. Barbara Oakley and Dr. Terry Sejnowski

By Ananda R

Nov 28, 2018

I am teacher by choice and "Learning to Learn" is what I teach. I have learnt many new things on this subject which I will be using in my classes as well as my personal learning. According to me, every teacher must go through this course. This is being given for "Free". There should be no more excuses. By gaining knowledge shared here, you will learn better and help others to learn better. By using the tips, you will reduce the time you spend in learning while improving the quality of your learning. Every student needs to understand the "Process" of learning, so that they can master what ever they wish to learn.Thanks to each person who has made this course possible. May God bless all of you with abundance.

By Hieu Q D

Nov 29, 2018

I appreciated a lot on this course. This will help me a lot in studying in the future.

By Niamh T

Nov 29, 2018

Exceptionally thorough, accessible and applicable. Cannot recommend it enough regardless of your career or specialty.

By Nancy F A

Nov 28, 2018

Me gustó mucho este curso, las técnicas que comparten son muy útiles.

By Marilena N

Nov 28, 2018

Excelent course, very useful information about the new techniques of learning.

By Abdelrahman A

Nov 27, 2018

very helpful

By Alysson M

Dec 16, 2018

It's a very helpful course that provides you with an overview of how your brain functions among many other interesting things. Doing this course you will learn how to improve your learning process and make your life better. I recommend it. Thanks, Dr. Barbara Oakley and Dr. Terrence Sejnowski

By Einar P

Dec 16, 2018

Very interesting content and effective teaching. However, the quizzes are too easy so in order to really benefit from the course I think it's important to take responsibility and do retrieval practice "offline".

By MaisuJabi

Dec 16, 2018

My first and more enjoyable MOOC. After this one, my way of learning has change for ever. Thanks so much.

By Tony G

Dec 17, 2018

A great investment for your mind.

By Mukundhan S

Dec 16, 2018

fantastic course for every student aged from 6 to 60+ ;

By Tangthai D

Dec 15, 2018

You make me understand, What I have done badly in my life and point it out how to fix it. Thank you

By Patricia H

Dec 16, 2018

What an excellent and practical course!

By Qianyun Y

Dec 17, 2018

It helps me better understanding how brain works, and also helps me learning more efficiently in the future. Thank you!

By Fernando A

Dec 17, 2018

It's a game changer!

By Valerio C

Dec 17, 2018

This is a very interesting course. I've gained a better understanding on the the learning process, how the brain works on keeping the information, what are the most common errors or obstacle on learning something new and some useful habit or tricks to learn in a more fruitful fashion. I've really appreciate the competence and teach style of the two teachers which I'd like to thank for their work. I strongly recommend this course, especially for students in high school and University because it contains helpful information on how to be more proficient in text or exams. The course could seem less apt for workers and employees, but for someone who wants to get better in what he does and fails on regular basis, this should be a great starting point.

By Carlos A C O

Dec 16, 2018

Excelente, muy buenos consejos para aprender mejor y rendir mucho más en los exámenes.

By Luis M V

Dec 01, 2018

Thank's to this course I have learned how to effectively study my assignments, how to avoid overlearning and illusion of competence. Every topic was totally clear and understandable.

I would definitely recommend this course to all my friends and family.

By David D

Nov 30, 2018

Great!

By Yasin M M

Dec 01, 2018

A basic course that everyone should take and start with.

By gowtham v

Dec 01, 2018

This course gave lot of insights on effective learning. i had heard about pomodoro technique, but after going through this course i got a better understanding of how to use it effectively. Great material.

By Anton B

Nov 30, 2018

Great course! A lot of simple concepts, ideas, and tips on how to learn more effective!Wish I knew all of this back in school or university...Bought a book as well to get more ideas and understand them better. Recommended for everyone, regardless of sphere or age!Thank you for the Course!