Chevron Left
Back to Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects by McMaster University

4.8
45,697 ratings
12,843 reviews

About the Course

This course gives you easy access to the invaluable learning techniques used by experts in art, music, literature, math, science, sports, and many other disciplines. We’ll learn about the how the brain uses two very different learning modes and how it encapsulates (“chunks”) information. We’ll also cover illusions of learning, memory techniques, dealing with procrastination, and best practices shown by research to be most effective in helping you master tough subjects. Using these approaches, no matter what your skill levels in topics you would like to master, you can change your thinking and change your life. If you’re already an expert, this peep under the mental hood will give you ideas for: turbocharging successful learning, including counter-intuitive test-taking tips and insights that will help you make the best use of your time on homework and problem sets. If you’re struggling, you’ll see a structured treasure trove of practical techniques that walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you’ve ever wanted to become better at anything, this course will help serve as your guide. This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or prior to, its companion course, Mindshift. (Learning How to Learn is more learning focused, and Mindshift is more career focused.) To join the fully translated Portuguese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprender To join the fully translated Spanish version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprendiendo-a-aprender To join the fully translated Chinese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/ruhe-xuexi...

Top reviews

GG

Sep 10, 2016

This is a course which I enjoyed. It gave a good insight of the learning methodologies which we have often heard of but not given due importance. Also, the brain facts is cool :) My 5/5 to this course

RS

Sep 07, 2015

I am a more effective learner as a result of this course. It has also, surprisingly, increased my enjoyment while learning. Thanks to Barbara and Terry for a well presented and informative production.

Filter by:

12351 - 12375 of 12,592 Reviews for Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

By OUALID I

May 11, 2019

great informations but the course must have more funny things and new faces to avoid the routine,

By Gabriel C

Apr 05, 2019

very hepful

By John S

Mar 26, 2019

informative and well structured, it was helpful in getting back to engaging and taught me some tricks in taking notes and got me to recognize my triggers to procrastinate.

By Muhammed H S

Mar 27, 2019

it was fruitful

By samar E

Mar 27, 2019

One of the best courses I have attended. The content is amazing and adds a lot to every learner. It actually gives the keys to master tough subjects. There was only one problem which is some boredom. I felt while watching videos because it was clear that the trainers are reading rather than explaining and talking naturally. I hope you can fix this in the future. With much love, than you.

By Subrata D

Apr 10, 2019

It's very helpful

By Vitor H

Apr 10, 2019

A very interesting course with lots of insights, even thought some were not that new to me.

By Ramadan E E

Mar 29, 2019

جميل

By harry

Mar 29, 2019

Nice organiz

By Angelina N

Mar 30, 2019

Some of the materials are missing, for example the test check list from R Felder, and the videos are kinda old, Mr. Seynowski is always reading the text in a awkward way, but the stuff he's saying is interesting nonetheless. Thanks for this class.

By saeed A F

Mar 30, 2019

It was a great course

I got benefit of it

By Jason B

May 21, 2019

Great Stuff, should be mandatory for every student.

By Abdurhman A M

Mar 25, 2019

It's my first course here and it was a very good one to start learning, the learning techniques educated here is very useful and also very easy

So Recommended to enroll

By uzair

May 22, 2019

pretty good, although basic. video and audio could be better.

By Jason E B

May 08, 2019

Lots of great concepts bundled into a fun and well organized curriculum.

By Giuseppe M

May 17, 2019

very useful. Thank you!

By Muhammad R

May 18, 2019

Well versed!

By Thomas C

May 28, 2019

The course is great and awesome for people that are trying to get back to study or for students that are already engaged in school and need better techniques to learn. I would and in fact, I did recommend this course for a friend or familiar.

By Shailesh K A

May 31, 2019

Could have done this course during my education. Would have working differently.

By Alan D

Jun 12, 2019

Solid and helpful information in this course! My only critique would be the inconsistent volume levels during the videos (some are quiet, some are louder). Although, it is well thought out. Dr. Oakley's book, A Mind for Numbers has been on my reading list for a while now. Can't wait to dig in to it! Thanks!

By Michaela B

Jun 15, 2019

Very helpful and informative.

By Ellen A

Jun 05, 2019

This course has a lot of very simple but useful insights, tips and tricks about learning. It can make your learning and your life easier.

By Tessa M S

Jun 06, 2019

I had a lot of fun and liked the whole course.

By Milad

Jun 09, 2019

Everything was clearly explained. It included the most beneficial learning techniques. The interviews with these incredible people could be more useful not just repeating and confirming the course materials.

By Aisha k A

Jun 08, 2019

It was a really wonderful course and gave me a lot of experience. I would like to thank the Corsera platform and give the Syrian Rally and recommend everyone to this exciting course