Chevron Left
Back to Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects by McMaster University

4.8
45,536 ratings
12,809 reviews

About the Course

This course gives you easy access to the invaluable learning techniques used by experts in art, music, literature, math, science, sports, and many other disciplines. We’ll learn about the how the brain uses two very different learning modes and how it encapsulates (“chunks”) information. We’ll also cover illusions of learning, memory techniques, dealing with procrastination, and best practices shown by research to be most effective in helping you master tough subjects. Using these approaches, no matter what your skill levels in topics you would like to master, you can change your thinking and change your life. If you’re already an expert, this peep under the mental hood will give you ideas for: turbocharging successful learning, including counter-intuitive test-taking tips and insights that will help you make the best use of your time on homework and problem sets. If you’re struggling, you’ll see a structured treasure trove of practical techniques that walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you’ve ever wanted to become better at anything, this course will help serve as your guide. This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or prior to, its companion course, Mindshift. (Learning How to Learn is more learning focused, and Mindshift is more career focused.) To join the fully translated Portuguese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprender To join the fully translated Spanish version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprendiendo-a-aprender To join the fully translated Chinese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/ruhe-xuexi...

Top reviews

JR

Oct 23, 2017

This Course Is awesome it gave me a new look on how my brain works and that i should actually take breaks which is probably why i get frustrated. I am Excited to Put what i have learned into practice.

JS

Aug 14, 2017

I really appreciate the time these guys invested in this course and am willing to take it again if they re-explain some topics in order to refresh some things that with time haven't stayed in my mind.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 12,543 Reviews for Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

By Tiago F d S

Dec 10, 2018

A great course that helps you to improve your ability to learn new things, improve your time management and to gain more confidence.

By Alberto L

Dec 10, 2018

Amazingly useful, a must for everyone at any age.

By Amine B

Dec 11, 2018

Amazing!!

This is what high schools and colleges should make mandatory as a first course for every year of any

curriculum.

.

By Neetal P

Dec 12, 2018

Great instructors and very useful information. Every student should learn these methodologies!

By Andrew M

Dec 12, 2018

Very interesting course.

By Dunja A

Dec 12, 2018

This course is very useful for re-establishing what you already know about learning, for grasping fresh and new ideas and perspectives on learning and it is also useful for establishing a new "learning practice" or breaking bad learning habits. I have enjoyed it and I highly recommend it!

By Jheison L R M

Dec 13, 2018

Awesome

By Muhammad U Y

Dec 13, 2018

Very nice, it is a unique course and gives good introduction to the topic of learning based on solid research, highly recommended to attend this course for learning life long learning and teaching skills.

By Dharmesh T

Dec 26, 2018

Definitely learnt quite a lot.

By Laura E C G

Dec 26, 2018

Un excelente curso con tips y recomendaciones sobre como podemos ser mas eficientes en nuestras sesiones de estudio.

By Catherine O

Dec 26, 2018

A great help to learner & teachers alike

By unashish m

Dec 26, 2018

Great course

By Apeksha

Dec 26, 2018

It is a very easy to follow and powerful course.

By Raquelline C

Dec 26, 2018

The amount of techniques that we get from this course help us not only throughout our learning processes but also can be considered life-changing skills: on the moment that we are able to recognise how our brain works, we become more aware on how to master it. I hope I can use those lessons on diverse areas of my life and career.

By Arthur S B D S

Dec 25, 2018

Great course, helps a lot to develop learning practice. even though I do not have put them all into practice anymore can see my mind accepting with good idea. Many thanks to Barbara Oakley and all of you who help me with this course, from the Good Doctors to the production and editing of videos in Portuguese that helped me a lot to complete the course. And the vision of being a free course with this helping many people around the World, Again Thank you very much and God bless you all

By Breyanna T

Dec 26, 2018

Very informative course, they provide examples as well as the science behind the concepts.

By Hassan A

Dec 27, 2018

It's very useful topic

By Tina P

Dec 25, 2018

loved it!!

By Krolenko Y

Dec 26, 2018

A lot of useful tecniques, a lot of fun and interesting facts about human brain! It was a pleasure to study.

By Erol B

Jan 02, 2019

This is the best course I have ever taken.

By Itamar A T

Jan 02, 2019

Excellent material and the optional interviews should not be optional.

Thanks Dr. Barbara and Dr.Terrence for such enlightening material.

By Alexander N

Jan 02, 2019

One of the best self-development courses I have ever taken

By János H

Dec 30, 2018

This course taught me essential skills for learning. I recommend it to everyone, especially if you are young, starting a university and no one ever told you how to learn effectively.

By Rudy B

Dec 31, 2018

According to me this is one of the best MOOCs on Coursera! I highly recommend it as first MOOC. It is very helpful for you student life, your professional life, and your personal development.

By Olena O

Jan 01, 2019

helped me a lot!