Chevron Left
Back to Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects by McMaster University

4.8
45,596 ratings
12,819 reviews

About the Course

This course gives you easy access to the invaluable learning techniques used by experts in art, music, literature, math, science, sports, and many other disciplines. We’ll learn about the how the brain uses two very different learning modes and how it encapsulates (“chunks”) information. We’ll also cover illusions of learning, memory techniques, dealing with procrastination, and best practices shown by research to be most effective in helping you master tough subjects. Using these approaches, no matter what your skill levels in topics you would like to master, you can change your thinking and change your life. If you’re already an expert, this peep under the mental hood will give you ideas for: turbocharging successful learning, including counter-intuitive test-taking tips and insights that will help you make the best use of your time on homework and problem sets. If you’re struggling, you’ll see a structured treasure trove of practical techniques that walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you’ve ever wanted to become better at anything, this course will help serve as your guide. This course can be taken independent of, concurrent with, or prior to, its companion course, Mindshift. (Learning How to Learn is more learning focused, and Mindshift is more career focused.) To join the fully translated Portuguese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprender To join the fully translated Spanish version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/aprendiendo-a-aprender To join the fully translated Chinese version of the course, visit: https://www.coursera.org/learn/ruhe-xuexi...

Top reviews

EB

May 20, 2016

I found this course incredibly useful and practical. It has not only helped me better understand the process of learning but it has also given me valuable tools in how to optimize my learning process.

AK

Aug 18, 2017

It was a wonderful journey of learning how to learn. Simple and effective. Wish i had come across something like this a little early in life. But better late than never. Keep up the good work. Thanks.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 12,570 Reviews for Learning How to Learn: Powerful mental tools to help you master tough subjects

By Молодцов Н С

Feb 03, 2019

Очень качественный и увлекательный курс. Каждое короткое видео составлено так, чтобы слушатель вынес максимум информации. Авторы стараются увлечь слушателя и заинтересовать его в получении знаний.

By Arun S

Feb 02, 2019

This is a wonderful course covering all aspects of learning right from understanding a topic to retention in memory and applying the knowledge as and when required.

By Lokesh K

Feb 03, 2019

One of the foundational courses everyone must take before starting their exciting journey on the educational paradise of coursera.

By dardim

Feb 04, 2019

very very good

By Maria S

Feb 03, 2019

Thank you very much from all my heart! Very useful course and brilliant teachers! Best-best wishes! Much grateful

By Knut K B

Feb 03, 2019

Very inspiring and educating

By Osman K

Feb 04, 2019

Really well done course. Easy to follow along, the scripts were very useful. You can tell a lot of thought and effort went into the production of the course. The material is also very useful

By Christophe G

Feb 03, 2019

Fantastic - I want to by the book ;)

By Muhammad T R

Feb 04, 2019

The best course ever

By Luke B

Feb 04, 2019

still have to do the honors portion but definitely a great one for anyone

By S H

Feb 05, 2019

Extremely well laid out and presented course. So interesting and useful!

By Mohammed M M A

Feb 04, 2019

very good course it helps you to understand your brain and how to use it perfectly

By Bas A

Feb 05, 2019

A very interesting and refreshing course. It learned me, to look at a different way to studying. Thinks I have to change to become a better student.

I already practice the things I learned, and it certainly improved my studying already.

By Martin P

Feb 05, 2019

Good course, easy to follow. Taught me skills which I found instantly useful. Wish I had studied this topic many years ago.

By Hari

Feb 05, 2019

Excellent course! Every body should take it. I wish I had read this when I was in college. I seem to have been using only my focus mode all along. I am looking forward to using the the tools that I learnt from this course! Thanks Dr Barbara Oakley and the other professors!

By Gabriel A M

Feb 05, 2019

really good for understanding how our brain works and how we can turn things in our favor

By Elif Ö K

Feb 06, 2019

This course not only taught me the functional techniques of learning tough subjects, but also helped me understand the scientific process which my brain passes through while learning.

By Teemu P

Feb 06, 2019

Thank you! This course gave me the understanding that I CAN learn - with right attitude and techniques!

By Enjutsu

Feb 06, 2019

I liked it, seems useful

By Vladimir

Jan 26, 2019

Very inspiring

By Jatin d

Jan 26, 2019

A must go through course.amazing journey with barb.

By Eva P

Feb 07, 2019

BEST INVESTMENT EVER

By Vishak.pm

Feb 07, 2019

An incredible course. To be enrolled who wants to learn

By Victor H

Nov 20, 2018

The course is amazing! Professionally taught, and supported with good evidence (both anecdotal and empirical)!

By Serge B

Nov 22, 2018

This course is what every student needs before starting their education!