Chevron Left
Back to Imagining Other Earths

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Imagining Other Earths by Princeton University

4.8
275 ratings
66 reviews

About the Course

Are we alone? This course introduces core concepts in astronomy, biology, and planetary science that enable the student to speculate scientifically about this profound question and invent their own solar systems. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Top reviews

RE

Aug 31, 2015

This was a very interesting class taught in such a manner that an undergraduate student majoring in any area would find interesting and educational, their is very much to learn for anyone

CN

Jan 26, 2016

The best course ever.! it really has the scientific detail that you do not find anywhere else in a clear simple and didactic way. The instructor is an amazing educator.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 66 Reviews for Imagining Other Earths

By gaocen

Jun 25, 2018

super cool and knowledgeable. review again.

By Joy S

May 15, 2018

Thorough, lengthy, weeks-long grounding in the subject. Only problem is stupid peer review.

By Raul Р

Apr 06, 2018

Something worthy.

By luis j

Mar 09, 2018

E

By Serge D

Mar 07, 2018

Very clear, very interesting

By derek j s

Feb 27, 2018

https://www.nasa.gov/image-feature/jpl/pia22240/splitting-slope-streaks

Sorry Professor David>>>your presentation on the 'dark streaks' on Mars' crater sides is outdated. I personally have studied these some 10 years ago having followed the 3 rovers and the lander 10 years ago and watched the water sublimate from the Phoenix digs, at that point I knew 'instinctively' that the dark lines were sand. Please see NASA link above.

I can not continue your course for the obvious reason that some other data will be outdated.

However, I truly have enjoyed your presentation method and if and when your updates to other lectures are complete I will endeavor to complete the lecture course.

Thank you.

yt

derek scarpelli

Canada

By 叶斌龙

Feb 14, 2018

非常好的课程

By Aidan T

Jan 07, 2018

i love it and iam 10 years old

By Richard K

Jan 03, 2018

very interesting course

By Justin C

Sep 27, 2017

A fascinating, excellent, and well-taught course.

By vaibhav s

Sep 21, 2017

When i saw the first video, i got a lot of knowledge and i am very interested to listen more

By Manmini G

Aug 28, 2017

Well explained and easy to understand. Excellent job!

By Brandon R

May 22, 2017

Really enjoyed the first dive into astronomy and planetary science!

By Vitaly W

May 16, 2017

Great class with an interesting and diverse amount of content.

By Fozia Z

Mar 23, 2017

Really enjoyed the course. It gave a very comprehensive introduction to Astrobiology and I enjoyed being pushed to write a science fictional short story at the end.

By Martin R

Mar 01, 2017

Great course and great delivery.

By John S

Feb 11, 2017

"Imagining Other Earths" introduces one to astonishing aspects of planetary science, delivered expertly by David Spergel, Charles Young Professor of Astronomy on the Class of 1897 Foundation and Chair. I found the course to be invaluable in improving my understanding of the universe in which we live. Professor Spergels unassuming, inimitable style of delivery leads one to an easy understanding of complex concepts. I found the Professor and the scientists who spoke with him in interviews which supported the lectures to be inspiring. I commend this course to anyone who is interested in understanding the universe.

By Deleted A

Jan 27, 2017

Amazing course

By Ruby S

Nov 13, 2016

This class was an exceptional journey into the world outside our own - and the details, balance, and intricacies of an ever changing universe. Professor Spergel is an incredible asset to the world of astrophysics and I feel truly lucky that he took the time to teach us. I happily anticipate leaning even more on this fascinating subject.

By Petar T

Nov 10, 2016

This is simply fantastic! Such a charismatic lecturer leading us so professionally through heavy subjects in a light manner! Looking forward to more courses!

By Basil R

Oct 27, 2016

This is a wonderful course, even for somebody, such as myself, who tends to freeze in terror when presented with mathematical equations of any sort. I'm a linguist, artist and musician, so no physicist, and yet have found here a wealth of imagination and knowledge that is accessible, even if only at the broadest level, to anyone, regardless of their academic background. Highly recommended.

By Richard H

Oct 22, 2016

Thank you very much for the course.

By alfredo

Oct 17, 2016

Very good and a good teacher

By Martin K

Oct 04, 2016

Excellent course with a lot of information served in the context and furthermore in the most understandable way.

Thanks for it.

By Aditya R

Sep 23, 2016

This was my first coarse on Coursera, and it is an amazing coarse. The professor and the presentation are so vividly unique, even as a high school sophomore, I was able to understand a large part of it.