Chevron Left
Back to Preparing to Manage Human Resources

Preparing to Manage Human Resources, University of Minnesota

4.8
1,911 ratings
487 reviews

About this Course

One way or another, all employees are managed. But approaches to managing employees varying from employee-to-employee, job-to-job, manager-to-manager, organization-to-organization, and country-to-country. This course provides a foundation for developing your own approach to skillfully managing employees by illustrating alternative human resource management (HRM) strategies, introducing the importance of the legal context, and thinking about what motivates employees. This will then give you the factual and conceptual basis for developing specific, critical HRM skills in subsequent courses on hiring employees, managing performance, and rewarding employees. Don't know anything about HRM? That's OK! Leave this course with a new-found understanding of the range of options available for managing employees, a grasp of what makes workers tick, and the readiness to develop your own HRM skills....

Top reviews

By MG

Mar 21, 2018

Excellent course structure, very clear and concise material, John Budd is teaching in a fun way, which helped me understand the syllabus, with short questions to help me think and not too long videos.

By MV

Jan 15, 2019

This course has an outstanding wealth of information for new people entering the Human Resources arena. I also recommend it to others that want to brush up on knowledge and skills of the HR industry.

Filter by:

474 Reviews

By ugochukwu onwuzurumba

Apr 24, 2019

This course is very interesting and innovative.

By Tracey-Ann Dobson-Hamilton

Apr 22, 2019

I am very happy that I took this course. As a professional who is transitioning into HR from law, this course provided valuable information on the topics I will need to consider as I fulfill my role as an HR Manager.

By Juliette Zenteno

Apr 22, 2019

Professor John W. Budd taught very well. He made the courses very interesting and learned something new.

By NGUESSAN AMATCHA LAURENT HENRI

Apr 21, 2019

Je suis très heureux d'avoir pris part à cette formation qui a apporté un éclaircissement à la notion de gestion des ressources humaines que que j'appréhendais difficilement et que je limitais au recrutement, à l'encadrement et aux mutations. Je croyais même qu'un bon manager des ressources humaines était celui qui parvenait à aider la direction générale à réduire la masse salariale et étouffer toute éventualité de revendications syndicales avec des primes circonstancielles. Je comprends aujourd'hui que savoir motiver les employés de façon intrinsèque peut être plus bénéfique que juste négocier les primes et autres motivations pécuniaires.

Je comprends aussi l'impact ambivalent des normes sociales qui régissent l'emploi.

Thanks a lot, Dear Professor.

By Garvit Sharma

Apr 19, 2019

Very good course, well structured and awesome instructor.

By Adedeji Michael Oluwakayode

Apr 17, 2019

perfect! thanks so much!

By Isabel Alejandra Pacheco Martínez

Apr 16, 2019

I THANK YOU FOR THE SUPPORT THAT GIVES YOU THIS GREAT OPPORTUNITY TO ALL, DEMONSTRATING THAT EDUCATION DOES NOT HAVE BORDERS.

THE POWER TO TAKE THIS COURSE IN A UNIVERSITY OF GREAT PRESTIGE AS IT IS MINESSOTA IS FOR ME A GREAT HONOR.

ACQUIRING THE TOOLS AND SKILLS NECESSARY FOR THE DEVELOPMENT OF MANAGEMENT MAKES US BE AT THE VANGUARD TO THE GREAT CHALLENGES.

By Yasmine Reynolds-Lambert

Apr 15, 2019

Exceptional Course, although computer based it was very interactive.

By Joanne Bedminister

Apr 15, 2019

Great instructor and great material!

By Gene Wiley

Apr 11, 2019

I appreciate Coursera and this course. I am learning so much. The instructor, John Budd is great.