Chevron Left
Back to Material Behavior

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Material Behavior by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.7
455 ratings
96 reviews

About the Course

Have you ever wondered why ceramics are hard and brittle while metals tend to be ductile? Why some materials conduct heat or electricity while others are insulators? Why adding just a small amount of carbon to iron results in an alloy that is so much stronger than the base metal? In this course, you will learn how a material’s properties are determined by the microstructure of the material, which is in turn determined by composition and the processing that the material has undergone. This is the first of three Coursera courses that mirror the Introduction to Materials Science class that is taken by most engineering undergrads at Georgia Tech. The aim of the course is to help students better understand the engineering materials that are used in the world around them. This first section covers the fundamentals of materials science including atomic structure and bonding, crystal structure, atomic and microscopic defects, and noncrystalline materials such as glasses, rubbers, and polymers....

Top reviews

SS

Mar 30, 2018

Material Behavior is a key subject for material studies and also very important for the mechanical engineering career. This course is very helpful and very easy to understand the hole concepts.

JL

Jun 17, 2016

The course was excellent. A lot of in-depth material, beyond even what I remember from college. Coverage of polymer systems in addition to the usual metals was very nice, and the

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 93 Reviews for Material Behavior

By Senthilkumar

Jul 01, 2017

This course handled to the best

By penperoo7

Jun 12, 2017

well

By Arun k P

Dec 25, 2016

Explanation are clear

By Nando S S

Apr 02, 2018

Excellent course. I am graduated in Materials Engineering and enjoy ths course. Amazing review and I have learnt ohter concepts. I recommend !

By Katarina I

Nov 03, 2016

Very good course for a begineer. Great professor. Many thanks

By Nithiyaraj M

Oct 04, 2017

It is a well designed course also for the engineers from other branches like me.

By SHUBRAJIT B

Jun 05, 2016

Good course.

By Anass B

Nov 25, 2017

perfect cours with perfect Dr .. thank you so much for the help

By Karen H

Aug 24, 2017

very useful

By Aditya U

Jul 19, 2017

Highly comprehensive course! I am pursuing a B.Tech in Polymer Science and Chemical Technology from Delhi Technological University, New Delhi but have never seen such clear and holistic explanations of abstruse topics.

By Reddy P

Sep 25, 2017

I really loved and enjoyed taking up this course. It helped me a lot to understand different concepts of materials. Thanks to Proffesor. Thomas Jr. for making an excellent teaching pattern. It was a great online learning experience.

By Siddhesh C

Sep 18, 2018

This course is very much informative and I learned so many basic concepts which are related to actual behavior of different materials.

By MOHAN R N

Oct 24, 2018

Very Useful for Mechanical Engineers

By Ramprasath K M

Oct 09, 2018

Very Nice Course .This will be very useful for mechanical and civil engineering.It was very interesting with lot of examples for each topics.

By S V K

Aug 20, 2018

This course is very fundamental and useful in understanding the different types of materials structures and their requirment

By Faiz K

May 16, 2019

Excellent content, delivered very effectively. Both presentations and narrative by Professor Thomas were excellent.

By 计真琦

May 27, 2019

非常地受用,学习得很紧凑

By Louis D R

Jun 05, 2019

Incredible teacher, incredible course, magnificently done.

By Madan M P

Jun 26, 2019

Excellent

By AMIT K G

Jun 26, 2019

very good course

By Elizabeth F

Jul 05, 2019

This course takes you from a general point of view of the behavior of materials to their paticularities. Definitions well explained and exemplified. I really enjoy it.

By Manoj

Aug 12, 2019

good

By mudit

Mar 11, 2019

good communication skill

By Surendra D

Mar 17, 2019

good

By SAIGEETA P

Jan 09, 2017

Very good course