Chevron Left
Back to Mechanics of Materials I: Fundamentals of Stress & Strain and Axial Loading

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mechanics of Materials I: Fundamentals of Stress & Strain and Axial Loading by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.8
685 ratings
142 reviews

About the Course

This course explores the topic of solid objects subjected to stress and strain. The methods taught in the course are used to predict the response of engineering structures to various types of loading, and to analyze the vulnerability of these structures to various failure modes. Axial loading with be the focus in this course. ------------------------------ The copyright of all content and materials in this course are owned by either the Georgia Tech Research Corporation or Dr. Wayne Whiteman. By participating in the course or using the content or materials, whether in whole or in part, you agree that you may download and use any content and/or material in this course for your own personal, non-commercial use only in a manner consistent with a student of any academic course. Any other use of the content and materials, including use by other academic universities or entities, is prohibited without express written permission of the Georgia Tech Research Corporation. Interested parties may contact Dr. Wayne Whiteman directly for information regarding the procedure to obtain a non-exclusive license....

Top reviews

RR

Sep 09, 2018

A very useful course for getting a strong foundation in strength of materials course. Definitely recommend to all who wants to learn it. Looking forward to future courses. Dr. Whiteman is outstanding.

DL

Jul 21, 2019

I can not afford to unlock the quizzes and assignments but I did learn and really enjoy taking this course. Thanks, for allowing us to take it on audit!.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 141 Reviews for Mechanics of Materials I: Fundamentals of Stress & Strain and Axial Loading

By Divya V

Jan 28, 2016

The session was really interesting and proved to be very useful to me.

By Chin M

Jun 10, 2016

The online lectures delivery by Dr Wayne are of a very high quality. Dr Wayne makes learning difficult concepts easy and the presentation is peppered with practical demonstrations of concepts at hand in the video. Learning is highly effective for the interested self-directed learner as there's good engagement and sufficient challenges are created along the way and during lecture delivery for the interested student.

By Yifan W

Aug 04, 2016

Systematic. Focusing on Basic Concepts. Good examples for learners.

By Muhammad J A

Apr 11, 2016

Best Course

By Deepak K

Dec 22, 2015

This is a great course for building or refreshing fundamental concepts in material engineering.

By Benjie L

Jul 04, 2016

Educational. Thanks

By Axel D C

Jul 13, 2016

He's a great teacher :)

By Gary U

Jun 08, 2016

The course is well documented, now includes the complete transcript of the lesson and the downloadable pdf's of the drawings. Prof Wayne Whiteman discusses the lessons clearly and methodically and is encouraging for the problems. Thoroughly enjoyed the course!

By ANDRES A G B

Feb 17, 2016

excellent course, i recomend for everyone

By Ravindra K

May 14, 2017

A concise but very useful course. I wanted learn more about Mohr's circle but in the process, I learned a lot more from this course. I had already taken this kind of course 12 years ago but this was refreshing to go through again.

By Craig

May 11, 2017

the best course, the best teacher

By Rubens M

Nov 23, 2016

Very, very, very interesting course and has an excelent teacher!

I learned a lot.

By David E M V

Jan 30, 2017

Excellent course!! Good explanation in general!

By Pradeep

Apr 20, 2017

The course is very much understandable. Each module is explained clearly and prerequisite knowledge of some concepts helps in getting good grades. Thanks for the financial aid. I would like to continue the Mechanics of materials II

By Yuva K

May 13, 2018

GOOD

By Sergio E G H

May 14, 2017

Great lectures!

By Roger.Qea

Jun 29, 2017

Everything is fine, but I do somewhat hope this course is not divided into 4 parts.

By Vinesh k

Jan 19, 2018

i really enjoy this course and learnt a lot of things from this course

By Chiranjaya H

Dec 13, 2016

excellent teaching ...

By Alfonso M

May 15, 2017

It was a very well course and I hope this can help me in my life

By Ashutosh S

Jun 02, 2017

Amazing course. I have already studied this course during my undergrad but this experience was different, the derivations specifically which i would have never understood and their significance, are now crystal clear. I would request the professor to start a course on structural analysis and some modelling software so that these concepts could be related. A course in Finite element modelling is highly appreciated. Thanks alot.

By Dhruv G

Nov 13, 2017

Really enjoyed this course. Thoroughly understood. Content delivery was great.

By madhankumar

Mar 27, 2017

this course very use full in my life

By Umair A S

Mar 27, 2018

I am a Mechanical Engineer and like most of them engineers, I had very weak concepts of basics of Mechanical Engineering. Then I came across this series of courses from Dr. Whiteman and believe me or not, I have learned more from him than my 4 years at an engineering university. He has this amazing quality of delivering the concepts in a very easy, understandable way. I really want to thank Dr. Whiteman for designing this amazing course and Coursera for providing us the platform to learn. They are really serving the humanity and mankind.

As for Dr. Whiteman. I would say Thank you, Sir!!!!

You have my respect for the lifetime.

By Amit M

Jul 26, 2017

best