Chevron Left
Back to English for Media Literacy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for English for Media Literacy by University of Pennsylvania

4.9
960 ratings
258 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to English for Media Literacy, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in learning more about U.S. media literacy. In this course, you will explore different types of mass media, such as newspapers, magazines, television, and social media. This course will also give you the opportunity to develop a broader understanding of the role media plays in our lives, while building your vocabulary and giving you the language skills needed to analyze what you read and watch. The first unit in this course will provide an introduction to media literacy and give you an opportunity to evaluate your own media literacy level. In unit 2, you will learn how to identify facts versus opinions in the media. The next unit in the course will focus on the differences between social media and traditional media, while unit 4 will look at how gender and identity are covered in the media. In the final unit of the course, you will demonstrate your increased media literacy by through a culminating final project on social media. Development of this course was funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs Office of English Language Programs. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license....

Top reviews

DT

Jan 27, 2019

I learned a lot from this online course especially the skills in media literacy. Thank you very much University of Pennsylvania. God bless to all staff and the people behind this program. More power!

LB

Feb 09, 2019

This course helps people to b knowledgeable in a very accessible way. Through Coursra you can study even in different places. Also you will get a Certificate that will be valubale to every learner.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 256 Reviews for English for Media Literacy

By 佩樺 蔡

Oct 28, 2018

A useful course that helps one be smart while using media.

By Inna R

Oct 15, 2018

Nowadays it's very important to stay media literate. I think, this course is usefull for students as well as for experienced specialist in different fields. Thnx.

By Victoria S S

Aug 23, 2018

The structure of all the lessons is very good and easy to understand. There are so many lively learning activities to both develop yourself and entertain! Everything is very useful and practical to improve your professional skills and achieve personal goals. You will lose much if you don`t take it!

By Andrew K K

Jun 16, 2018

This course is so gorgeous that I couldn't stop learning... I used to spend long hours doing it and as a result, I completed earlier than scheduled time.I am now proudly media literate, I can now tell whether a certain media presentation is bias or objective.Great thanks to my dedicated lecturers.

By Roxanne C

Apr 29, 2018

I am so glad to take this meaningful course. I've learned a lot from it, too. It helps me develop some critical thinking abilities on the issues I will encounter in our daily life. It is extremely important for people to cultivate their ability to judge things and to tell right from wrong when making decisions. Thank you for the informative instructors and all the efforts you made for us. I do appreciate them.

By Kyrylo S

Apr 27, 2018

I've really enjoyed the course. It gave me a lot of new information and new vocabulary.

By Olga B

Apr 18, 2018

This is my first course with Corsera. So much new and interesting information! I am very satisfied! Thank you all for so great work!!!

By Anastassiya H

Apr 01, 2018

I’m very grateful for knowledges and skills,which were given in a comrehensive manner through the interactive videos,texts,vocabulary games in the course.

By Rose A M D

Nov 13, 2017

Great course with excellent teachers and well-organized module! Good job!

By Alrazihi T

Nov 13, 2017

It is more media course than English course. The English focus is about 30% of the course.

By Maryna B

May 11, 2017

It's great course! You can get new knowledge, expand the vocabulary and improve English skills.

By Riten B

May 10, 2017

This course is fabulous. It made us literate about media. It also helped to boost up English knowledge.

By qunxingmu

Jun 10, 2019

very good for English learner.

By Luis F S R

Jun 10, 2019

buen curso mucho aprendizaje

By Issa d L

Jun 03, 2019

thanks for this opportunity, i learn so much

By Nedyu Y

Jun 01, 2019

A bit simplistic without a clear scope and target audience.

By Lorybell M

May 29, 2019

It was an excellent course in which I learned about media literacy and the different ways I can take into account to understand the messages through the media and the purpose they have.

By Sarthak K

May 25, 2019

Amzing course, I loved it.

By Polina H

May 21, 2019

I really like this course.

It helps you to improve your English and media literacy what is important in our world

By khadija b

May 07, 2019

i love it , it was very helpfull

By Said J K

May 07, 2019

English for Media literacy is excellent and deserves five star

By OUALID I

May 04, 2019

great cours,i feel like that my eyes were closed but now i have the attention for media,i can analyse ads and ask questions that could help me avoid bias.thank you very much

By amine e

May 02, 2019

This course will help you look at media with a whole new look.

By Lin Y

Apr 15, 2019

It is like an English course for those who would like to evaluate the social media sources (for beginner). Everything is in an organised way. Good.

By

Apr 11, 2019

thanks for this video . i studied media in faculty for 4 years and i didn't feel it useful as this course .