Chevron Left
Back to Medical Neuroscience

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Medical Neuroscience by Duke University

4.9
1,332 ratings
350 reviews

About the Course

Medical Neuroscience explores the functional organization and neurophysiology of the human central nervous system, while providing a neurobiological framework for understanding human behavior. In this course, you will discover the organization of the neural systems in the brain and spinal cord that mediate sensation, motivate bodily action, and integrate sensorimotor signals with memory, emotion and related faculties of cognition. The overall goal of this course is to provide the foundation for understanding the impairments of sensation, action and cognition that accompany injury, disease or dysfunction in the central nervous system. The course will build upon knowledge acquired through prior studies of cell and molecular biology, general physiology and human anatomy, as we focus primarily on the central nervous system. This online course is designed to include all of the core concepts in neurophysiology and clinical neuroanatomy that would be presented in most first-year neuroscience courses in schools of medicine. However, there are some topics (e.g., biological psychiatry) and several learning experiences (e.g., hands-on brain dissection) that we provide in the corresponding course offered in the Duke University School of Medicine on campus that we are not attempting to reproduce in Medical Neuroscience online. Nevertheless, our aim is to faithfully present in scope and rigor a medical school caliber course experience. This course comprises six units of content organized into 12 weeks, with an additional week for a comprehensive final exam: - Unit 1 Neuroanatomy (weeks 1-2). This unit covers the surface anatomy of the human brain, its internal structure, and the overall organization of sensory and motor systems in the brainstem and spinal cord. - Unit 2 Neural signaling (weeks 3-4). This unit addresses the fundamental mechanisms of neuronal excitability, signal generation and propagation, synaptic transmission, post synaptic mechanisms of signal integration, and neural plasticity. - Unit 3 Sensory systems (weeks 5-7). Here, you will learn the overall organization and function of the sensory systems that contribute to our sense of self relative to the world around us: somatic sensory systems, proprioception, vision, audition, and balance senses. - Unit 4 Motor systems (weeks 8-9). In this unit, we will examine the organization and function of the brain and spinal mechanisms that govern bodily movement. - Unit 5 Brain Development (week 10). Next, we turn our attention to the neurobiological mechanisms for building the nervous system in embryonic development and in early postnatal life; we will also consider how the brain changes across the lifespan. - Unit 6 Cognition (weeks 11-12). The course concludes with a survey of the association systems of the cerebral hemispheres, with an emphasis on cortical networks that integrate perception, memory and emotion in organizing behavior and planning for the future; we will also consider brain systems for maintaining homeostasis and regulating brain state....

Top reviews

KT

Nov 22, 2018

I leant so much without even realising it until I got to the final exams and all this knowledge was making sense. Amazing lecturer with so much wisdom in the area. The course is very well delivered.

KR

Dec 22, 2016

I have not really taken any Neuroscience courses and I have to say this was very challenging with my already full-time load at school but I did it! Yay! I love Dr. White he is an awesome professor!

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 339 Reviews for Medical Neuroscience

By Marisa M

Jun 29, 2017

Really thorough, challenging and fun.

By Wendi J

Jul 25, 2017

Such a rewarding learning experience. This course has given me so much insight into the inner workings of the brain. I just want to thank Professor White for his wonderful teaching as well as all the members of the team that have made the online course possible. The interactive and social teaching method has been very enjoyable!

By Alba

Oct 09, 2016

Excelente método para aprender rápido y fácil

By Maliheh

Sep 18, 2017

Love This. The best course in neuroscience. Many thanks Dr. white.

By beatriz a c

Oct 26, 2016

Amazing course and very complete. I do not advise it to beginner students, since it goes very deep into the study of the brain. But I totally recommend for high degree students.

By KEERTHI R

Jun 11, 2017

I love it!!!!!! it was an awesome experience....!!!!!

By Adele C

Sep 09, 2016

Incredible course! Thank you Dr. White!

By Rawa

Nov 18, 2016

It is a wonderful course for serious learners wanting to learn about the human nervous system and how it works. I myself am a medical doctor (I graduated over two years ago) and I can attest that (in my university at least) I didn't have neuroscience lectures with this depth and detail.

Due to my medical background I found it comfortable to go through the course without much effort or lots of extra studying. But I figure that if you do not have some such foundation it might be a bit more challenging to go smoothly with the course, and you might needs more extra studying and more time put into the course.

But if you are interested about neuroscience and want to learn the essentials of how the human brain works (as per our current knowledge) then I recommend that you put in the effort and go with the course even if you don't have a strong background in the life sciences or in medicine.

Many thanks to Dr White and everybody else who have participated in creating and maintaining this course.

By Emma S

Aug 31, 2017

This is a very detailed and well-taught course. Prof White's enthusiasm for both the subject and teaching is apparent, and it's hard not to be infected by a love for neuroscience.

By Ambroise M

Jan 27, 2017

Excellent course

By Michael

May 07, 2017

Challenging and worth it.

By Gabriela S S S

Jan 27, 2018

Fantastic

By Anindya T

Jul 11, 2017

An excellent course for anybody.

By KEVIN R P

Jun 06, 2016

Best course ever! it's worth the work for everything you gain, particularily those in all areas of health care..

By Sushmitha

Sep 26, 2016

Four months back, I barely knew few terms in the context of Brain. And today, I'm capable of diagnosing neurological disorders. Immense amount of knowledge gained!

By Ahmed E

Nov 30, 2016

Very excellent and informative course. Definitely recommending it to everyone

By Ivan S

Jul 15, 2016

I have no words for assessment the course. Thanks for all you've done for all of us. Doctor White is the best teacher I've ever seen in my whole life. There is an enormous amount of polite feelings during performing the tasks, Sincerely Ivan ;)

By Dipanjan C

Apr 25, 2018

Super Illustrative !

By Dr. J D D M

Dec 15, 2016

Great course.

By Pedro V P

Jun 07, 2016

Excellent!

By Mohamed M

Sep 05, 2016

Admittedly, some topics (especially neural signaling) could be explained so much more simply. Professor White sometimes picks the most random starting points to explain a new topic rather than explaining the subject matter in a Point A-Point B manner. Other times, there are other topics where information is omitted in an attempt to not overcomplicate the subject, although sometimes that omitted information could have easily helped to explain what the professor was talking about.

That said, this is an incredibly thorough, clear, yet manageable course. This course has the hands-down best resources (lecture notes, clinical case studies, interactive anatomy program, and a separate website) of any Coursera class I've taken. I've learned more from this class than any single class I've taken on Coursera or in college. Hats off and big thanks to Professor White, Ellen Vos, and everyone involved in this course.

By Minesh K

Sep 11, 2016

It is just Great.

By Serge D

Oct 28, 2016

Cours complet pour s'initier au fonctionnement du cerveau et du système nerveux, et connaitre la neurobiologie du cerveau.

By Penelope R

Feb 25, 2017

Awesome!

By Ricardo J A G

Sep 06, 2016

I love science and this kind of courses make me love it so much more, Thank you!