Chevron Left
Back to Microeconomics: When Markets Fail

Microeconomics: When Markets Fail, University of Pennsylvania

4.8
280 ratings
68 reviews

About this Course

Perfect markets achieve efficiency: maximizing total surplus generated. But real markets are imperfect. In this course we will explore a set of market imperfections to understand why they fail and to explore possible remedies including as antitrust policy, regulation, government intervention. Examples are taken from everyday life, from goods and services that we all purchase and use. We will apply the theory to current events and policy debates through weekly exercises. These will empower you to be an educated, critical thinker who can understand, analyze and evaluate market outcomes....

Top reviews

By JR

Jan 14, 2018

Great and relevant content, presented in an interesting and easy way; allowing the student to go through the video materials in an individual pace and thus optimize the study sessions.

By NP

Aug 12, 2018

I really appreciated the short form videos and abundant visual examples. I would take MANY more classes on Coursera if it were guaranteed that they would follow this format.

Filter by:

63 Reviews

By 蔡銪峰

Mar 31, 2019

good

By 陳嘉宏

Mar 29, 2019

很棒

By James Carroll

Mar 15, 2019

Course material was very accessible and engaging to learn, thanks Dr.Stein!

By Anuli Regina Ogbuagu (Ph.D)

Feb 17, 2019

It is all wonderful experience with Prof. Rebecca Stein on this course. I enjoyed it both the content and the well structure pattern by which she thought the course. it is an added experience as an economist and I valued her inclusive teaching. thanks to the provider (Coursera).

But I'm still waiting for my certificate.

By APOORVA BHATNAGAR

Feb 11, 2019

Best course.

By Ahmed Mohamed ElKelany

Feb 10, 2019

it was great

By Peter Davidson

Jan 02, 2019

Very helpful and informative class.... liked the challenge of getting my microeconomics view back in order...

By David Voyles

Oct 24, 2018

Love how the videos were brief, but informative. Very helpful class and exams weren't overly complicated. In the end, I felt as though I retained much of the knowledge.

By Nicholas Paola

Aug 12, 2018

I really appreciated the short form videos and abundant visual examples. I would take MANY more classes on Coursera if it were guaranteed that they would follow this format.

By Mike Y Wang

Jun 17, 2018

The course requires some fundamental knowledge of economics as video lectures are quite short, and the quizzes actually test your understanding of the topics (applied learning), requiring a bit of outside reading not provided through the course.