Chevron Left
Back to Microeconomics Principles

Microeconomics Principles, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.8
716 ratings
165 reviews

About this Course

This course offers an introduction to the functions of individual decision-makers—both consumers and producers—within the larger economic system. Emphasis is on the nature and functions of product markets, the theory of the firm under varying conditions of competition and monopoly, and the role of government in promoting efficiency in the economy. Most people make the incorrect assumption that economics is ONLY the study of money. My primary goal in this course is to shatter this belief. During this course, we will be addressing the above questions as well as many more relating to: -the environment -love and marriage -crime -labor markets -education -politics -sports -business My main goal is to show you the way economists think and how to use this analytical system to answer questions related not only to these and other important human issues, but to anything you end up doing with your life after this class. After all, as you will quickly find out, I believe that everything is economics!...

Top reviews

By FK

Jul 16, 2017

Great way to explain economics, especially for students with english as a second language. Thanks for dividing the videos into smaller parts making me able to plan my schedule in great flexibility.

By F

Dec 04, 2016

Perfect course. Everything is clear. I really like the way the instructor teach something and I should note that the examples he uses are legendary :D For exmple market for romantic relationships.

Filter by:

161 Reviews

By Rahul Mundra

Feb 18, 2019

Amazing Course

By Luis M Barandiaran

Feb 11, 2019

Es un curso muy interesante

By Manvi Bolia

Feb 07, 2019

I like how interactive this course is and how the professor makes it really easy and interesting to learn.

By Palash Raju Balpande

Feb 06, 2019

It was good learning the basic principle of Economics, I surely hope to find it useful in my further studies regarding financial markets, finance queries, and many more.

Overall a very good experience, Thanks to the Guide Sir, and University of Illinois.

By Jian Peng

Feb 05, 2019

This course does a very good job explaining economic principles through examples in our daily life. I would recommend anyone who wants to take their first step in economics to try this excellent course.

By Todd C. Watson

Jan 07, 2019

This is an excellent, concise survey course on basic economics. The instructor covers all of the major concepts. This kind of course should be part of every well-rounded education.

By Shyam Joshi

Dec 28, 2018

The ability to explain the concepts of the teacher was extremely good!

By Vatsal Gehlot

Dec 24, 2018

amazing course!!

By ivy

Dec 23, 2018

I am a student majoring in economics. Actually, the lecturers in my college made me disappointed about economics. But I get interested in it in this class.

By Mervyn Lee

Dec 14, 2018

I am a computer science graduate and I had been focus purely in technical skill and hide myself in the geek world. I came out recently to know more about the world, and this course gives me a lot of wonderful insight and new perspective on how the world works in term of trades and the purpose of existence of government in the first place. A great course and a wonderful lecturer that able to demonstrate the economics theory by interview people who can share their amazing experience. Great job!