Chevron Left
Back to Dealing With Missing Data

Dealing With Missing Data, University of Maryland, College Park

3.8
73 ratings
18 reviews

About this Course

This course will cover the steps used in weighting sample surveys, including methods for adjusting for nonresponse and using data external to the survey for calibration. Among the techniques discussed are adjustments using estimated response propensities, poststratification, raking, and general regression estimation. Alternative techniques for imputing values for missing items will be discussed. For both weighting and imputation, the capabilities of different statistical software packages will be covered, including R®, Stata®, and SAS®....

Top reviews

By MM

Jun 05, 2017

This course quite help to get as much reliable data as possible for any survey.

Filter by:

15 Reviews

By Iyshia Lowman

Nov 08, 2018

As others have stated before the audio is REALLY LOW. It makes it very difficult to hear him without headphones for my phone. The course was fine, overall.

By Anandita Ghosh

Nov 03, 2018

There is scope for a lot of improvement in terms of quality of content as well as videos. There also appeared to be technical issues in the quizzes wherein the correct responses were often returned as incorrect & vice-versa, for a few quizzes. Without a moderator, queries are not addressed and nobody appears to be keeping track of the feedback. I was disappointed in the course since the previous courses in the specialization were far better designed and executed.

By Reni Amelia

Apr 05, 2018

Prof. Richard Valliant, Ph.D. clearly enough explain all of these course materials. I will use these materials to dealing missing data on our census or survey. I believe that these materials were very helpful for me and my agency.

Thank you very much for all of this course.

By Anna Bellido Rivas

Jan 24, 2018

Great course!

By Hussein Ezzeldin

Dec 25, 2017

This is a higher level course. Good for beginners.

By Hiroki NISHINO

Nov 17, 2017

the course materials are of very low quality.

By Mohammad Morshedloo

Jun 05, 2017

This course quite help to get as much reliable data as possible for any survey.

By Carlos F. Pavon

Apr 27, 2017

Excellent review of relevant material.

By Tin Ko Oo

Jan 25, 2017

Good knowledge about Non-responses!

By Evan

Dec 24, 2016

While this course seems to have potential, there are many aspects of it that don't result in a great learning experience. The course resources comprise of videos and notes. The videos are informative but the notes are fairly lacking. Perhaps the biggest issue that I found with this course was the disconnect between the material covered in the videos and that which was tested on the quizzes. Often times the quiz questions were either painfully easy or worded in such a way that was not verifiable in any of the class resources. As a result, confusion occurred sometimes more often than true learning. A topic such as missing data is naturally very complex and I wouldn't expect a short course on Coursera to be able to adequately cover it. However, I do think that a lot more could be done to improve the value of this course even if that means changing the scope of the materials. Also, the lack of responsiveness to issues raised on the forum and issue-reporting buttons was a disappointment.