Chevron Left
Back to The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1)

The Modern and the Postmodern (Part 1), Wesleyan University

4.8
570 ratings
124 reviews

About this Course

This course examines how the idea of "the modern" develops at the end of the 18th century in European philosophy and literature, and how being modern (or progressive, or hip) became one of the crucial criteria for understanding and evaluating cultural change. Are we still in modernity, or have we moved beyond the modern to the postmodern?...

Top reviews

By NM

Jan 08, 2016

One of the best professors i've ever come across! If the teacher is so passionate about the subject material as well as conveying the ideas, the course will be excellent. This is one of those courses.

By AR

Dec 25, 2017

I Like How Professor Roth remains objective throughout the course without letting his personal opinions hindering his teaching in any way.Enjoyed the course Very much!Highly recommend.

Filter by:

124 Reviews

By Chris Paulus

Feb 17, 2019

Cool ideas. Very engaging instructor. Finally I understand the Simpson's and the odd Nietzschean qualities of our modern and post-modern world.

By Eric Nicholson

Jan 28, 2019

Excellent but perhaps too many books to read! Reading three or four novels is unrealistic for such a course.

By Warren Cartwright

Jan 25, 2019

Fascinating overview of what 'Modern' might mean.

By Коныхова Анастасия Леонидовна

Jan 16, 2019

Потрясающий лектор! Очень интересный курс!

By Peter Finfrock

Dec 16, 2018

A great and accomplished scholar presents his subject matter in a compelling way.

By Julia Presnyakov

Dec 06, 2018

Very insightful.

By Малахов Илья Вадимович

Nov 08, 2018

The course is very good. Thank you.

By Fogan Aholou

Oct 26, 2018

Help know how was the modern time, and the different school of thought that forged it...

By Cecilia Perotto Titalin

Oct 13, 2018

Amazing course! Professor Roth guides you through philosophy, history, literature and art in depth but also in a simple, enjoyable way!

It took me more than seven weeks to complete the course as there were some readings to be done which were quite time-consuming and having a full-time job it wasn't always easy to devote as much time as needed to this pretty demanding course, but I enjoyed every lecture and managed to always find even the tiniest bit of time to watch the videos and complete the assignments.

It's been a great experience so far, I'm looking forward to Part 2 now!

By Mohammad Abid

Oct 06, 2018

Very well-structured and brilliantly taught. If philosophy/sociology/cultural studies interest you but you've never had a chance to learn it in a progressive, structured sequence, then this course is for you. This will help you make wholistic sense of ideas and place them in reference to one another.