Chevron Left
Back to The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910

The Modern World, Part One: Global History from 1760 to 1910, University of Virginia

4.8
1,416 ratings
348 reviews

About this Course

This is a survey of modern history from a global perspective. Part One begins with the political and economic revolutions of the late 1700s and tracks the transformation of the world during the 1800s. Part One concludes as these bewildering changes seem to be running beyond the capacity of older institutions to handle them. Throughout the course we try to grasp what is happening and ask: Why? And the answers often turn on very human choices....

Top reviews

By MC

Nov 06, 2018

Dear Professor,\n\nI am fascinated with week one, even though I work in the scientific side, also like history, nothing more rewarding than visiting and ancient place and know what happened... Thanks

By GW

Apr 16, 2017

Such an informative course, and it linked together different regions & events; that's something only top-level sources of education does. I will no doubt continue on with the course to Part 2.

Filter by:

339 Reviews

By JG

Apr 25, 2019

Philip is a god.

By Petko Elenkin

Apr 19, 2019

Interesting topics

By Frédéric Darthenay

Apr 18, 2019

A very useful (and actually very rich) overview

A true talent to make it simple (honestly emphasizing that the interpretation grid is to some extent chosen by the professor !)

Great

By Abdurrahman

Mar 15, 2019

Great course, nice community, much engagement. Thank you for this.

By leslie cole

Feb 28, 2019

Amazing course, great professor! I can´t wait to begin Part 2

By Fernando Hidemi Uchiyama

Feb 25, 2019

This is a very good course with one of the greatest teachers I have ever seen.

By Manjula gaur

Feb 20, 2019

The course is very informative and useful , and easy to understand the concepts.

By Dimitris Syropoulos

Feb 15, 2019

An analytical and coprehensive presentation of the most important century in human history focusing on interpretations of stunning developments rather than a dry quote of dates and names

By Raissa Lazzeretti

Feb 06, 2019

Absolutely amazed with this course. Philip is extremely knowledgeable, gives you the baby steps in order to understand each class. I'm looking forward to take another class with him. Couldn't recommend enough!!

By Ulises Aquino

Jan 31, 2019

Increíble síntesis de los hechos que definen el mundo moderno.