Chevron Left
Back to Modern & Contemporary American Poetry (“ModPo”)

Modern & Contemporary American Poetry (“ModPo”), University of Pennsylvania

4.9
172 ratings
67 reviews

About this Course

ModPo is a fast-paced introduction to modern and contemporary U.S. poetry, with an emphasis on experimental verse, from Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman to the present. Participants (who need no prior experience with poetry) will learn how to read poems that are supposedly "difficult." We encounter and discuss the poems one at a time. It's much easier than it seems! Join us and try it! Yes, the next live, interactive 10-week session of ModPo will begin on September 8, 2018, and will conclude on November 19, 2018. Al Filreis will be in touch with you by email before the September 8 start of the course with all the information you'll need to participate. If you have questions, you can email the ModPo team at modpo@writing.upenn.edu. During the 10 weeks of the course, you will be guided through poems, video discussions of each poem, and community discussions of each poem. And (unique among open online courses) we offer weekly, interactive live webcasts. Our famed TAs also offer office hours throughout the week. We help arrange meet-ups and in-site study groups. If you are curious about the ModPo team, type "ModPo YouTube introduction" into Google or your favorite search engine, and watch the 20-minute introductory video. You will get an overview of the course and will meet the brilliant TAs, who will be encountering the poems with you all the way to the end. If you use Facebook, join the always-thriving ModPo group: from inside Facebook, search for "Modern & Contemporary American Poetry" and then request to be added as a member. If you have any questions about ModPo, you can post a question to the FB group and you'll receive an almost instant reply. We tweet all year long at @ModPoPenn and you can also find ModPo colleagues using the hashtag #ModPoLive. ModPo is hosted by—and is housed at—the Kelly Writers House at 3805 Locust Walk on the campus of the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia USA. All ModPo'ers are welcome to visit the Writers House when they are in our area. Our discussions are filmed there. Our live webcasts take place in the famed "Arts Cafe" of the House. To find out what's going on at the Writers House any time, just dial 215-746-POEM....
Filter by:

65 Reviews

By Sini Ylimäki

Sep 08, 2018

At first I was a little afraid of starting this course since

1. English isn't my first language

2. I hadn't read much of poetry in any language before this

So I worried if I would be able to complite it and understand the poems and the terms used in describing them. But this was really fun and I learned so much. About poetry, poets and English. Everything was easy to understand (with a little help of a dictionary) and after the course I actually started reading poems from the different poets that we had learned on the course and that I had liked and then I moved on to complitely new poets. This course helped me get a better understanding on how to read poems and it proved that there isn't just one way of interpreting them. Thank you!

By Akanksha vala

Sep 08, 2018

nice

By Kaushik Banerjee

Aug 24, 2018

I am simply loving it

By Maria Real

Jun 24, 2018

I really enjoyed how dinamic it was. Although the classes were like little debates, the professor was able to guide the students. When talking about poetry, I find this method very refreshing. Good job!

By yumeng

Jun 03, 2018

das ist toll

By Esteban Ruiz

Feb 14, 2018

Beautiful course, I'm just going trough week 1 and it's amazing feel so engaged, with the content and the videos, I really appreciate the words and toughs of Al Filreis, and all the Team that is working with him, thank you so much to everybody, I'm not a native English speaker, but here I'm loving this course.

Thank you,

Esteban

By Zakia Resshid

Nov 16, 2017

I find this course very extensive. I recommend every one to get enrolled in here. I had started other online courses and regretted that i should have completed those first and then embarked on this one. Now that when the course has gone to its 10 week will i be able to earn a certificate for this one.

By Missie E Cooper

Nov 15, 2017

A friend recommended this course and I rather reluctantly agreed. I'm not often eager to commit to anything, much less a 10-week course. I stuck my little toe in and then fell into the course whole-heartedly. This course is so much more than a study of poetry, although it is certainly that in its comprehensive manner of presenting a variety of poets and poems. But, through the resources available, like the incredible forums and videos or audio taped presentations, I fell deeper into a realm of understanding the vast possibilities of the written or spoken word. I saw for the first time a connection between art and poetry. Between philosophy of the poets and their concept of poetry. This course has been a springboard to learning and I have been elated to have been a participant for 10 weeks. I'm eager for more.

By Juliana Lapera Batista

Nov 14, 2017

I LOVED THIS COURSE AND IN MY OPINION IT IS A COMPLETE COURSE ABOUT LITERATURE

By Alejandro Brand Betancur

Nov 01, 2017

Es el mejor curso en que he participado. El trabajo constante de Al y su equipo, la interacción constante, a través de los foros, los hangouts, las asesorías semanales, es impresionante y demuestra la pasión y empeño que ponen en este curso. A tener en cuenta que el curso es bastante exigente y demanda mucha dedicación, muchas horas semanales para poder seguir el ritmo, más vale la pena el esfuerzo, se aprende muchísimo, genial, the best mood course.