Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Rehearsing Music Ensembles

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Rehearsing Music Ensembles by The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

4.8
258 ratings
89 reviews

About the Course

Learn and practice the basic principles of running an effective music ensemble rehearsal. Techniques and strategies are applicable to a variety of ensembles, including bands, orchestras, choirs, and chamber groups....

Top reviews

SS

Sep 11, 2017

This was an interesting and very useful course. Directors responsible for rehearsing ensembles will enjoy learning techniques, and even experienced conductors will benefit from revision and sharing.

TB

Aug 28, 2015

This is a great course and also flexible to needs of students. If you get behind, the course is built to help you get back on track. I find this extremely helpful with a busy and irregular schedule.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 85 Reviews for Fundamentals of Rehearsing Music Ensembles

By Casey M

Aug 14, 2015

This was a phenomenal course full of very useful info for musicians of all levels of leadership. It ranges from basic conducting, to rehearsal strategies, to score study, and it is enhanced with Dr. Feldman's interviews with the orchestra and choral directors at UNC-Chapel Hill. Could not recommend this course more highly!

By Donghan Z

Apr 14, 2017

It is definitely the best online musical course that I've ever taken. The professor is so great that he makes the video very interesting. Plenty of content and knowledge are coved in this course. I learned a lot of basic conducting skills which are fundamental to my dream of being an orchestral conductor. I strongly recommend you to take this course.

By Hai y

Jun 08, 2018

Tq

By Orlando I R V

Aug 21, 2015

Very helpful and inspirational course. Highly recommended.

By Sandy S

Sep 11, 2017

This was an interesting and very useful course. Directors responsible for rehearsing ensembles will enjoy learning techniques, and even experienced conductors will benefit from revision and sharing.

By Peter K

Aug 13, 2016

a great eye opener for a chorister newbie like myself. Although I cannot fully comprehend the rich material and experience shared, the course set me on a good direction on my musical interest discovery

By Rafael d S C

May 19, 2017

Excelente

By ji y r

Nov 09, 2016

Practical and have good points that one should remember when conducting a certain group

By Julie B

Aug 14, 2015

Excellent instruction, enthusiastic instructor. I am learning a lot!

By Hamid R S

Oct 11, 2015

Just a great opportunity! Thanks!

By Daniel C T

Jan 17, 2016

It is a great course, simple, direct and very useful

By Frank D A

Nov 13, 2015

One of the Important courses every ensemble Director must study.

By Dobromir G

Aug 08, 2015

I'm bassoonist and I think, that the course is very valuable for non-conductors. It will be a great experience!

By Angelique C

Mar 06, 2018

This is an excellent course. I conduct a children's choir, and this course really helped me learn a lot of principles and techniques for conducting. They do a great job of covering both choral conducting and instrumental ensemble conducting, which is great because even if you only do one or the other, there are many differences worth knowing! It has made me a better, more knowledgeable conductor. Highly recommend!

By Angelina W

Dec 29, 2015

Excellent examples and lectures. Ideal for conductors, but also helps develop general musicianship.

By Gerald W

Aug 17, 2015

Phenomenal course. Here Dr. Feldman and his associates in the music program take more than 25 combined years of experience equipping students with core fundamentals to get started as a conductor or musical director.

By Katyusha G

Jul 25, 2017

Marvellouse and very very useful!!!

By Taryn S

Aug 11, 2016

I really enjoyed this course! The instructor kept things interesting and covered a lot of topics in a concise way. I wish there were more choral examples -- as in examples I could watch in action, not just hearing someone talk about it -- but otherwise I thought it was great. I will definitely use a lot of the things I learned here with my own ensemble.

By Paulo

Jan 17, 2018

Recommended!

By Christoph H

May 26, 2018

Excellent.

By Kingsley O

Nov 29, 2015

Very educating for conductors!

By Cooke H

Oct 17, 2015

At first I wondered how could there be so much to know about rehearsing ensembles. All info except a bit is valid for all ensembles from a rock group to orchestra. Dr Evan Feldman is a pleasure as an instructor as he has passion, a good delivery and lots of experience and knowledge. I liked the actual rehearsal videos as he put to practice the techniques, I only wished we could have seen the same in the choral and orchestra segments as opposed to just a dialogue with the also very knowledgeable conductors. This was professionally done and the info is so very important. I took the course as I am part of several ensembles but recently joined a university orchestra and this opened my eyes up to the process which had seemed hap hazard but clearly was not, Macro - micro, phrasing work, intonation,sectional work etc all have their place during the rehearsal.

By María F B R

Aug 01, 2016

Great and complete course!!! congratulations!!!

By Emre A

Dec 01, 2016

I learned and reviewed SO much from this course. From the rehearsal toolkit to tips with working on intonation and balance to tips on improving conducting, I found this course to be an invaluable professional development opportunity. Strongly recommended for all conductors who work with ensembles everywhere, at all levels.

By Andrey O

Jul 24, 2017

Thank you so much for such excellent course. now I do understand my conductor way better then before