Chevron Left
Back to Creating Sounds for Electronic Music

Creating Sounds for Electronic Music, Berklee College of Music

4.7
160 ratings
45 reviews

About this Course

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course*, you will create sounds and use them in your own musical compositions. Whether you're an aspiring producer, composer, or hobbyist, this course will help you gain skills in music production and confidence using software synthesizers. Along with your classmates, you will create a massive database of designed sounds, or patches, to use in your compositions. As part of the course, you will work with a free version of FXpansion Strobe 2. What you’ll need to get started: This course is designed for learners who are familiar with music production basics, and who have access to some basic music production equipment. Specifically, you should have experience with a digital audio workstation that supports VST, AAX, or AU plugins (Introduction to Music Production or Pro Tools Basics are recommended if you do not have this experience). You will also need a MIDI keyboard or controller (such as an oxygen 8), a digital audio workstation, such as Pro Tools, and FXpansion Strobe 2 (a free 90-day demo will be provided for Coursera learners in this course). *About Project-Centered Courses: This is a ‘project-centered course’, which means it is designed specifically to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share....
Filter by:

44 Reviews

By Кудряшов Денис Николаевич

Jul 21, 2018

Thank you, this is a wonderful course, I learned a lot of new and useful things for myself, I wish you good luck !!!!

By Hai yen

Jun 08, 2018

TQ

By Yunus Rajabiy

May 05, 2018

Loudon's awesome teacher. This is how teaching should be done. Straight to the point engineering sounds and not math & calculus equations to explain how things work. He demonstrates it all in practice, not in theory that people couldn't relate.

By Julius Valsson

Apr 27, 2018

One of the best courses I have taken (and I have taken many). Massive end excellent teaching material. Fantastic teacher. Highly recommended!

By Robert James

Feb 22, 2018

Good as a introduction but too simple for me- only really a beginner level I would say. But explained very well and goes over definitions and how sounds are created well!

By Phillip Cartwright

Feb 06, 2018

Overall, the course was useful as an introduction to synthesizers. It moved a bit too fast. A lesson or two on the front end focuised on the synthesizer design and technical aspects would be helpful.

By LeAttol (Robert Ellis Langford)

Jan 09, 2018

I was pleased with this course. Loudon looked a lot Younger. At first I was critical of the synth (Strobe 2) and of the Course Style But I was impressed by Other Students. Thanks Loudon - Le

By Chris Runkel

Jan 08, 2018

The videos are poorly edited, with jump takes every 2 seconds, which is quite dizzying. the whole course is complete fluff. the videos take upwards of 10 minutes to convey 2 minutes of information. infographics dont include ADSR settings. the Official Facebook page for the course, which is supposed to be for discussion is full of people using it for self promotion, including the page admin. that is just wrong on so many levels. I'm glad I chose the free audit option, instead of paying fifty bucks because it appears the only tangible benefit (if you can call it that) is that your projects can be graded by people whose only qualification is that they also got suckered out of fifty bucks. Hello...I can post my projects to anywhere on the internet and just ask for feedback. All in all, this course has caused me to particularly lose faith in Berklee, but also in Coursera and online education as a whole.

By Jaehwi Cho

Jan 01, 2018

The best electronic music course for beginner!

By Sergio Armando Garcia Ortiz

Aug 17, 2017

great