Chevron Left
Back to Multiplatform Mobile App Development with NativeScript

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Multiplatform Mobile App Development with NativeScript by The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

4.5
133 ratings
31 reviews

About the Course

This course focuses on developing truly cross-platform, native iOS and Android apps using NativeScript (Ver 3.x). The framework uses Angular, TypeScript or modern JavaScript to get truly native UI and performance while sharing skills and code with the web. You will learn about UI development with NativeScript UI and layout support and access the native mobile platform's capabilities from Javascript. You should have already completed the Bootstrap 4 and the Angular courses in this specialization before proceeding with this course. At the end of this course you will be able to (a) Build mobile applications targeting multiple platforms with a single codebase, (b) Leverage your Angular, TypeScript and Javascript skills, and (c) Use various features of the NativeScript framework to build truly cross-platform mobile applications...

Top reviews

MA

Mar 20, 2018

Awesome and well structured course contents to grasp concepts of development with Nativescript

SB

Dec 12, 2017

Great course indeed! All the concepts were discussed thoroughly and in a lucid manner.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 31 Reviews for Multiplatform Mobile App Development with NativeScript

By Ryan R

Dec 05, 2018

This is the fourth course in the specialization. I returned to attempt to complete it, but no longer going forward. There are multiple challenges with this course.

First of all the environmental setup for NativeScript. I tried the various installation methods provided on the NativeScript webpage and was unable to get 'tns doctor' to pass. Through trial and error I eventually found a method which worked much better and was contemplating posting a video to YouTube on how to setup the NativeScript and Android SDK headache free.

-----

Install JAVA.

Install Android SDK.

Set JAVA_HOME, ANDROID_HOME, and add build_tools location to PATH.

Configure Platform and SDK tools via Android SDK (No need to create a project. Configure from welcome screen via lower right hand settings).

Install NativeScript via npm.

-----

Aside from that, the material has been updated, but not the videos. Because of this, the videos don't match the homework material.

Example: (Not the first, but...)

Week 2 - Buttons

favorite.services.ts - favorite: Array<string>, all function

dishdetail.component.ts - 'toasts' are discussed later in the course.

Some debugging is good and part of the learning process. However, while returning to this course (I completed week 2 previously), I started back over for review and was unable to complete Week 2 - Buttons.

Update the material and I'd be happy to attempt it a third time.

By Matias A P G

Nov 02, 2018

use very old version of nativescript

By Hanan M

Jan 01, 2018

I would not recommend this course until NativeScript has solved those bugs for iOS as well as Android. I had many errors while starting the emulators of iOS or android. It crashes when it's trying to compile and sometimes files are missing after you have build. The course itself was not detailed enough when it comes to preparing your workspace for your NativeScript project!

By Nilesh M

Jan 25, 2019

Great learning for me, Recommended....

By MD S A

Feb 06, 2019

Great Course

By Camara L D

Feb 25, 2019

Excellent course

By Priyansh B

Aug 03, 2018

Building Application using Nativescript is just an amzing experience. Android Developers should consider once about developing applications using nativescript. I want to say to android developers to be aware, nativescipt developers are growing and they can develop applications along with the support of iOS platform.

By Raymond P

Aug 12, 2018

Great !!

By Aishwarya M

Aug 25, 2018

good

By OSama S

Aug 15, 2017

Awesome course and instructor delivering very well

By Abramov S

Apr 09, 2018

Great course!

By Anthony D V

Feb 02, 2018

Excellent course!

By vignaux

Dec 04, 2017

Great course and great instructor.

By Jitendra K J

Mar 30, 2018

Excellent.

By Shahensha S

Feb 13, 2018

Excellent Course!

By Peter S

Nov 22, 2017

The third of 5 courses in the specialization. The 5 courses are 5 small shining gems: all extraordinarily well structured, up to date and to the point. The whole series is a complete overhaul of the material from an earlier specialization. The material has been updated and restructured. Nativescript is new in the series, and very well explained. I enjoyed seeing things come live on my phone. (I have one suggestion: It would have been nice to learn how to handle long lists. Very few restaurants come with only 4 item on the menu).

By Sunil B

Dec 12, 2017

Great course indeed! All the concepts were discussed thoroughly and in a lucid manner.

By Brijesh P

Feb 15, 2018

It was good!

By Edson A T T

Oct 13, 2017

very good examples and exercises

By Muhammad U A

Mar 20, 2018

Awesome and well structured course contents to grasp concepts of development with Nativescript

By Edward G

Mar 11, 2018

Fun, easy introduction to NativeScript, broad and light.

My one minor quibble with the content is that the code is a bit 'casual', so beginners beware.... while experts will hopefully conscientiously overlook this aspect because this isn't a course in structured programming (or OO, or pick-your-category): it's an intro to NS, and as such does a good job, thank you.

By Javeed I

Nov 19, 2017

awesome way teaching

By Trương C L

Jul 09, 2018

thank teacher

By sai s

Mar 29, 2019

simply superb

By Herald M O Z

Jun 17, 2019

nice course and exercises