Chevron Left
Back to Building Your Career in Music: Developing A Brand and Funding Your Music

Building Your Career in Music: Developing A Brand and Funding Your Music, Berklee College of Music

4.6
93 ratings
14 reviews

About this Course

This course shares practical tips and strategies to help you take your first step into launching your career as a musical artist. We’ll cover everything from developing your unique identity as an artist and how to lead a band all the way to planning and recording your first independent record with the help of crowdfunding. The course curriculum is modeled from the real-world experience of Leah Waldo (also known as the emerging country artist, Elisa Smith) and features interviews with industry executives, artists, producers, and engineers — all designed to help you navigate the music industry....

Top reviews

By ZV

Mar 21, 2018

Are you missing pieces in your music business understanding? Eliza does a fantastic job of breaking it down to simple concepts, and connecting it all to your dream.

By A

Dec 23, 2018

Leah Waldo is such a powerful woman and a smart teacher, I learnt so much from this course! Thank you!

Filter by:

13 Reviews

By Vincent Wortmann

Feb 16, 2019

Good luck on your career!

By Elihú Rendón Molina

Jan 23, 2019

Esta bueno el curso; sin embargo, tiene algunos errores como la entrega final.

By Adel Zamalutdinov

Dec 23, 2018

Leah Waldo is such a powerful woman and a smart teacher, I learnt so much from this course! Thank you!

By Brett Michael Hoag

Aug 14, 2018

I really love this course and think Leah Waldo's perspective as a musician is vital to understanding how to navigate the music business. I feel like this is part of Course 4 mixed with an actual musician's experience and guidance. It was really nice to feel like Leah understood that everything she was teaching was just a reflection of herself and her own experiences. I really appreciated this course even though she is a country music performer and I create beats - I felt like she cut through a lot of the crap that I might face as just a random student/musician in this course. As a producer, I felt like I was able to learn so much valuable information about how I need to navigate the music business even though I might be unaccustomed to that point of view. It made me think differently, and also allowed me to connect with a different genre of music. Leah was really good at emphasizing that the IVI is important to an artist and I think that translates to anyone trying to do something creative so it was one lesson that I pulled out of the whole course and can apply to almost anything creative. Learning about networking was also vital in teaching me about how I can extend my social sphere and try to reach out to my audience on a small and larger level.

By Dan Conley

Jul 27, 2018

This is a good course. I really appreciated used her personal experience as a living case study to teach and demonstrate the material.

By Alberto Carlos Diaz del Castillo Gonalez

May 29, 2018

Excelent course, great topics, I´ve learned a lot about the business and about myself as musician

By Joseph Erain Gonzalez

May 07, 2018

I enjoyed this program tremendously. It's informative, practical, straight to the point, and not to mention, fun! Leah Waldo is passionate not only being a musician but a teacher and I have found all of her words of wisdom along with every single one of her guests that appear throughout the course to be absolutely invaluable. I hope to apply what I've learned to furthering a humble career as an independent artist in today's and tomorrow's music industry.

By Ricardo Pablo Olivares

Apr 10, 2018

Looks great. It is my first week and it looks like a dynamic and interesting course.

By Zachary D VanOverbeke

Mar 21, 2018

Are you missing pieces in your music business understanding? Eliza does a fantastic job of breaking it down to simple concepts, and connecting it all to your dream.

By Sergiu

Feb 18, 2018

Vague content, most of it inaccurate and extremely outdated. Waste of time.