Chevron Left
Back to Our Earth: Its Climate, History, and Processes

Our Earth: Its Climate, History, and Processes, University of Manchester

4.6
82 ratings
28 reviews

About this Course

Develop a greater appreciation for how the air, water, land, and life formed and have interacted over the last 4.5 billion years....

Top reviews

By SS

Mar 22, 2018

It was a really nice, and interesting course, which will definitely help me in my career. Thanks University of Manchester!

By JQ

Dec 06, 2017

A great course with some interesting and educational concepts. I really enjoyed this course. Thanks so much.

Filter by:

27 Reviews

By Robert Pasztor

Nov 28, 2018

Valuable information about climate change and global warming.

By Marek Ciepłucha

Nov 26, 2018

Very interesting one, but I found all the information too much "compressed". The course could be expanded to 7-8 weeks and thus some areas could be explored in more details. Overall, highly recommended.

By Christiane Andries

Nov 05, 2018

V

By Agustin Galetto

Jun 25, 2018

Excelent chance to understand how different spheres in the earth system deeply connect and interact with each other. Variables that slighlty change in one system can have a major impact in other orthers of the earth climate.

By jeanette muñoz vera

May 14, 2018

muy buen curso! completo y claro

By Richard Henkle

Apr 09, 2018

Thank you.

By Victor Julio Alejandro Jorquera Flores

Apr 09, 2018

curso muy completo e interesante

By Syed Ali Shabbar

Mar 22, 2018

It was a really nice, and interesting course, which will definitely help me in my career. Thanks University of Manchester!

By Mariana

Feb 09, 2018

Great teachers and wonderfull information.

By Liz Chiu

Dec 27, 2017

I learnt a lot and managed to form a more coherent idea of the Earth's history and processes. The videos were good, helpful and easy to follow. The Build Your Own Earth assignment was interesting and useful, but the simulations did not do what I was hoping. I thought I was going to play around with the parameters to see how the addition of different life forms might affect the composition of land, sea and air. When I select Land > Surface vegetation type there is always grasslands, even in the Ancient simulations before grasses had evolved, so this isn't a tool for simulating the evolving ecosystems on Earth. Despite this limitation I discovered many things by playing around with it.