Chevron Left
Back to The Changing Landscape of Ancient Rome. Archaeology and History of the Palatine Hill

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Changing Landscape of Ancient Rome. Archaeology and History of the Palatine Hill by Sapienza University of Rome

4.2
103 ratings
51 reviews

About the Course

Studying ancient - as well as medieval or modern - cities basically means telling local urban stories based on the reconstruction of changing landscapes through the centuries. Given the fragmentary nature of archaeological evidence, it is necessary to create new images that would give back the physical aspect of the urban landscape and that would bring it to life again. We are not just content with analyzing the many elements still visible of the ancient city. The connections between objects and architectures, visible and non visible buildings, which have been broken through time have to be rejoined, to acknowledge the elements that compose the urban landscape. Landscape and its content are a very relevant and still vital part of any national cultural heritage. The course will introduce students to the way we have been reflecting on over the last twenty years and still are engaged with the study of the past of our cities, beginning from the most complex case in the ancient Mediterranean World: the core of Italy and of Roman Empire. On the other hand, knowledge means also preservation and defense of material remains and cultural memory. “The Changing Landscape of Ancient Rome. Archeology and History of the Palatine Hill” presents to a large public the topographical lay-out of the most relevant part of the city (according the Greek and Roman Historians Rome was founded on the Palatine). Research developed on the Palatine since the end of last century by the team of Sapienza Classical Archaeologists opened a new phase in the urban archaeological investigation and in the scientific debate about the relation between archaeological features and literary tradition as well as the “correct use“ of both kind of evidence, key issues of wide archaeological and historical significance....

Top reviews

CS

Mar 22, 2018

I?m now living in Siena so visiting Roma and it?s wonderful ancient architecture especially the Roman forum and the palatine hill has new excitement and knowledge for me.

JC

May 02, 2018

I appreciate the opportunity to learn the history of Rome and how it became the marvel city it is today . I will enjoy a lot more my next trip to Rome. Thank you .

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 51 Reviews for The Changing Landscape of Ancient Rome. Archaeology and History of the Palatine Hill

By E. S S

Sep 22, 2017

Fascinating course detailing the ancient building structures on the Roman Palatine Hill. As an architect, I greatly appreciated the knowledge and invitation to experience the metamorphoses of monuments and structures.

By Samer M K

Oct 20, 2018

Great course. Thanks

By Eric H

Jun 10, 2019

Very very interesting!

By Carmen

Apr 01, 2019

L

By Dorothea M F

May 24, 2018

The teacher is great! He shows us the actual ruins whenever possible, it is the next best thing to being there and seeing it ourselves.

By Rebeca P M

Aug 17, 2017

It is a great course to know ancient Rome

By Patricia C

Oct 16, 2017

It is an excellent course, but it doesn’t have subtitles. When you are not an expertise, and the language used is not your own, the understanding of certain terms it is sometimes difficult.

Anyways, a good experience. The professor is an expertise on the subject.

Great job!

By Andres

Jul 14, 2017

.

By Eliano F

Jun 16, 2018

Very, very interesting. I wish to have more handouts

By Magda B

Nov 30, 2017

Very interesting and detailed class.

By Alexander R

May 20, 2018

Great Course to understand the founding and aspects of the roman empire. Pretty good.

By Amy Q

May 29, 2019

Having a document with names, terms, etc. would have been helpful, as well as clickable documents of the many maps and diagrams that were used. So many terms were found on them, and it made it difficult to keep track of everything. Very much enjoyed the course otherwise, thank you!

By Peter N

Aug 13, 2019

A wonderful course that allowed me to understand a part of Rome much better.

I feel that the additional course material was simply a recap of the lecture and didn't expand or clarify anything.

The tutorials at the very beginning and the directions to download and instal AutoCad are irrelevant.

By David J W

Dec 24, 2018

Lost interest, couldn't finish. Probably could have read a book on the subject and saved myself the time.

By Ygor K B

Feb 19, 2019

very good

By John B

Aug 15, 2017

Graphics were interesting but did not focus on what the professor was saying. The professor was sincere and seemed knowledgeable though his speech impediment became distracting very quickly. Overall, having visited the Palatine several times over the years, I found the course very helpful in giving me a feel for physical aspects of so much of what I have read about ancient Rome in history and literature. Thank you for the opportunity.

By Leticia L

Jun 12, 2017

Curso interesante y entretenido

By Bishwaksen B

Mar 25, 2018

Two areas of concern - The audio transcript is not present everywhere, and a lot of the building plans and maps are in Latin. Rest all good.

By Andrew O M

Jul 29, 2019

Great content, especially for serious archaeologists. While understandable for the most part, the presentations in second-language English at times lagged.

By Massimo R

Mar 24, 2019

Maps are terrible. Close Captioning non existent at times. English pronounciation is bad. The subject is interesting though

By Emily M

Jun 27, 2017

The information is very interesting and I learned a lot. However, the quizzes cover information that was just slightly was mentioned, and further, the professor doesn't give any real written information about the archaeology. He also jumbles the time periods a lot, which makes it hard to follow. I don't recommend this course until it's cleaned up a bit. Also, some of the quiz answers are wrong, which is just really annoying.

By Jonathan G

Feb 17, 2018

some of the quiz questions have nothing to do with the course! I know I was about archaeology but it seemed more conducive to Roman architecture than anything else. This course was misleading.

By Bradford K

Jul 18, 2017

This course covers a lot of detailed information about the archaeology of the Palatine Hill. Unfortunately, there is no framework provided to help you put this information in perspective and determine what is important. There is a lot of repetition, and too much detail without developing an understanding of the major developments in the history of this area.

By Francine

Aug 28, 2017

There are no transcripts of the videos, and the staff states that they have no intention of doing so.

By Marlene C

Feb 16, 2018

No transcripts, difficult to understand the audio.

I thought this was a course about history turns out its a course about AutoCAD and needs software I can't install.

First quiz is on content not in the video, the video was about installing AutoCAD.