Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Plants - Part II: Fundamentals of Plant Biology

Understanding Plants - Part II: Fundamentals of Plant Biology, Tel Aviv University

4.8
375 ratings
109 reviews

About this Course

This class is aimed at people interested in understanding the basic science of plant biology. In this four lecture series, we'll first learn about the structure-function of plants and of plant cells. Then we'll try to understand how plants grow and develop, making such complex structures as flowers. Once we know how plants grow and develop, we'll then delve into understanding photosynthesis - how plants take carbon dioxide from the air and water from soil, and turn this into oxygen for us to breathe and sugars for us to eat. In the last lecture we'll learn about the fascinating, important and controversial science behind genetic engineering in agriculture. If you haven't taken it already, you may also be interested in my other course - What A Plant Knows, which examines how plants see, smell, hear and feel their environment: https://www.coursera.org/learn/plantknows. In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool...

Top reviews

By AP

Nov 05, 2017

That was a pleasure to have such a passionate and interested in biology lecturer. I found course useful and interesting. Thank you dr. Chamovitz for let me being your student for last several weeks.

By JL

Aug 28, 2017

The course does very good job for providing the planned content. However if you have already studied the field and want to have more deep understanding like I do, you need to look for other courses.

Filter by:

104 Reviews

By jhon tailor alvarez tangarife

Mar 11, 2019

so good

By Ferdinand Fajardo

Mar 10, 2019

Lecture 4 (Week 4) was really a very delicate topic and I admire how Dr. Chamovitz had handled it very well. I believe that Dr. C was not, in any way, biased or partial to the handling of the topic. Nor had he cherry-picked. Thanks Dr. C. I am giving this a 5-star FWIW.

By LolaP

Feb 06, 2019

C'était très enrichissant et intéressant. J'ai préféré en revanche la Partie I que je trouvais plus riches.

Merci encore pour ces cours!! Une super opportunité d'apprendre la biologie.

By Luis sanchez suarez

Feb 01, 2019

another

recommended

master class.. learn about genomics,food security and primary,plant biology

By Pierre Sedille

Jan 16, 2019

Great course, just a bit short

By Burkhard Reuter

Dec 30, 2018

I like the way Mr. Chamovitz is teaching. Clear voice, good subjects and a positiv attitude.

Make the world a better place!

Thanks a lot!!

By Ignacio Piero Sanders Nuñez

Dec 24, 2018

Solid Course plus great teaching!

By Dawn Beerman

Dec 03, 2018

I was so excited when I saw that Professor Daniel Chamovitz was doing another course on plants. I completed his first course some years ago. I so enjoyed that course. Two and a half years ago I was diagnosed with ovarian cancer. I had a hysterectomy and six courses of chemotherapy. I had heard that it can affect ones brain. So, not only have I proved to myself that my brain is functioning just fine, I have spoiled myself by taking and passing this fascinating course.

Thank you so much Professor. I hope that you will be back with another course on plants to delight me. I am a 73 years old female living in the plant paradise of Cape Town, South Africa where there are a huge variety of indigenous plants waiting to help mankind.

By Sharjeel Ashfaq

Nov 02, 2018

EXCELLENT

By Joaquin Salas Herrera

Oct 17, 2018

Excellent course, very clear and complete biology material, I am convince that undersatanding plant could be a tremendous tool to provide food in the next years, we could start ourselves and then teaching our childeren to get along with crops. It is amazing how plants respond to all the stimuli we deliver to them, in this class I have learned a lot about taking care to plants.

Thanks Prof. Daniel