Chevron Left
Back to Psychology of Popularity

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Psychology of Popularity by The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

4.6
471 ratings
120 reviews

About the Course

The level of popularity you experienced in childhood and adolescence is still affecting you today in ways that you may not even realize. Learn about how psychologists study popularity and how these same concepts can be used in adulthood to be more successful at work, become better parents, and have a happier life....

Top reviews

JD

Feb 21, 2016

This course has been absolutely terrific! The knowledge and insight this has briefed me with has been very useful, and makes more than a lot of sense. Thank You Mr. Prinstein, and Thank You Coursera!

HC

May 11, 2018

This was amazing, really interesting, well presented. A good insight into how our friendships while of school age can impact on our adulthood and how this is so often repeated down the generations.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 120 Reviews for Psychology of Popularity

By Mashka

Oct 29, 2018

The course itself is great and have a lot of awesome points, such as:

- interesting subject and I couldn't wait to finish it.

- it helped me to understand what exactly is my problem with peers and romantic relationship. Now I have clear goals to work with: no hostile attribution bias, not to be excessive reassurance seeker.

Though, for my point of view it needs some polish.

- Entire course is possible to complete in 1 day, due to NO homework, NO lectures, NO extra resources for study.

- The topic is not disclosed and leaves more questions than answers. Lecture "Does popularity change when moving to a new context?". Why they didn't make experiment with selecting only popular kinds from all schools and putting them together? Most probably, roles would change. There was similar experiment on rats https://steemit.com/psychology/@natord/social-roles-exploiter-worker-whipping-boy-and-independent

- No links to resources. I would like to see more details on experiments. I would like to know more data of experiments such as how many children were participating?

- Data is not structured. Charts with one axis, one curve with two names. The idea is clear, but not mathematically expressed correctly.

- Strange analyze of data. Difference of 6% considers as a huge one, difference of 30% not important.

- Contradictive course. First he said it's almost impossible to change group, later he provides fact that in 2 year 58% of not aggressive - rejected (50% of all rejected) kids becomes not rejected.

- Some terms are not explained and used as everybody should know it. For example I find internalizing/externalizing symptoms not very common.

By Martha L

Feb 15, 2018

I feel we deserve to be given a list of references. This course begs the question of how to heal from popularity wounds, and how to be popular which were both not addressed at all. Very disappointing.

By Andrei A I

Jul 20, 2017

I guess the course was OK. I really liked the models in the first videos, which looked at the difference between visibility and likability. The last two weeks contained videos which I believed were a bit redundant, and did not add much new information.

I would also have liked the course more if it would have delivered some tools for dealing with popularity situations both at work and in our social circles.

By Rohit N

Jun 08, 2017

The topic itself is such a novel one to dissect. Popularity effects/ affects us in many ways and the studies undertaken in this course explains how society shapes you in a certain way. Good or Bad it's a great revelation for one and all as we understand ourselves a bit better after we take the course.

For me it was enlightening at multiple levels.

Certain aspects of the study isn't covered though. Children can belong to varied categories based on their peer group. In this course the study assumes that children will belong to one peer group at a time. Peer groups can vary in a child's life - for eg: the peer group of their school would be different from the one in their neighbourhood. This case isn't considered and this would open up a whole new set of possibilities in understanding a person's mental make up.

But it's a great first step. Kudos.

By Kelly D

Feb 08, 2017

This course was heavy on data and light on implications and course corrections. It would have been more helpful to outline the types of behaviors that make an individual fall into a specific category socially and how to change what your currently do to enhance your social likability.

By Virginia S

Jul 01, 2019

I Loved taking this course, the professor was engaging and it was far more challenging than I anticipated! It made me look at my high school years in a new light and how it affected myself and those I went to school with as well. It's still breaking ground research and I think I'll be taking part in the study to find out more! Thanks for teaching it and making it available!

By Sara G

Jun 16, 2019

This is a great course. I have learned a lot of valuable information about how the American Society works.

The instructor is very engaging and knowledgeableabout the subject.

By Roberta C

Jun 05, 2019

As a teacher of high school students, I found this course incredibly useful in understanding the world of my students.

By Linna C

May 03, 2019

Very informative and educational.

By Kristin D

Apr 20, 2019

very interesting stuff

By Jaison C

Apr 20, 2019

This was an interesting exploration, Dr. Mitch Prinstein is really interested in the subject, too, it shows and drew me into the topics. Great time, good information.

By Sherine A

Mar 17, 2019

Pretty ok in terms of the depth of topic and the instructor engages your attention.

Would've liked to see more recent research; most of the research was from the 80s and 90s.

By Maissa

Mar 15, 2019

I learnt a lot, about growing up, popularity and how it affects us, I really enjoyed it, and I managed to take it while studying at university, the time is so manageable, a BIG THANK YOU for the teacher and how he made things very simple , I had no idea or resources in psychology before this but I understood it all. I wish we had an other part of exploring how to break through from popularity of growing up and change that in our work place, or university... and our relationships as well

overall I LOVED it, I would surely recommend it.

THANK YOU

By Galeak G D

Mar 11, 2019

I really like this course it make me self resilience

By Siddhi

Feb 26, 2019

Loved how sensitive the instructor has been about various topics. He's been enthusiastic as well. Not only did I learn a lot, I eagerly wrote to my friends, every time I came across an insight- which always ended in a rich conversation.

I'm much grateful.

By Shruthi G

Nov 11, 2018

easy to understand and simple learning

By Maria R V H

Nov 05, 2018

I'm from Perú and I found it really interesting. All the lectures are very clear. I can relate what I learned here with the social interaction I see at work.

By Jia L

Oct 24, 2018

Interesting lecture!

By Mohamed I E

Oct 02, 2018

It was such great experience to gain. Many things were cleared fair enough that have had been blurry for a long time.

By Marta F

Sep 09, 2018

Great course!! Before knowing that there is such thing as psychology of popularity I knew intuitively that popularity had to be a big factor deserving of study. Growing up I was very aware of how popular some people were and the power they had on the rest -most of the time unknowingly. The social dynamics are so interesting. This course was amazing to me. Thank you!!

By Jhun C R

Jul 19, 2018

in today's issues this course is very much relevant and helpful to everyone

By Eileen O

Jul 10, 2018

The presenter was very articulate and clearly passionate about this topic. However, much of the research cited was approx 20 years old. Given the significant changes in technology during that time and the rise in the the use of social media, it seems to me that the content of the course is not as relevant to todays young people as it could have been.

By Scott W

Jun 01, 2018

The things I took away from this course is as fascinating as they are practical in applying to everyday life. This is everyone a course should be.

By Marianne H

May 22, 2018

This is the first time I've done anything remotely related to psychology, and before I started, I wasn't sure I was going to enjoy it, but actually it was one of the most enjoyable, interesting and accessible courses I've ever done. It's perfectly pitched so that complete beginners can engage right from the very start without feeling all at sea, and yet I think students who are more au fait with psychological matters wouldn't feel patronised or dumbed down in the least. Not only that, but it actually answered questions that have genuined bugged me since secondary school. If I had the money, I'd be hopping on a plane and charging straight over to North Carolina, Chapel Hill, to enrol on a degree course in Psychology, and I'd want to be taught by this specific instructor!

By Helen B C

May 11, 2018

This was amazing, really interesting, well presented. A good insight into how our friendships while of school age can impact on our adulthood and how this is so often repeated down the generations.