Chevron Left
Back to Positive Psychology: Resilience Skills

Positive Psychology: Resilience Skills, University of Pennsylvania

4.9
713 ratings
219 reviews

About this Course

Learn how to incorporate resilience interventions into your personal and professional life with Dr. Karen Reivich. In this course, you are exposed to the foundational research in resilience, including protective factors such as mental agility and optimism. Several types of resilience interventions are explored including cognitive strategies; strategies to manage anxiety and increase positive emotions such as gratitude; and a critical relationship enhancement skill. Throughout the course, you will hear examples of individuals using resilience skills in their personal and professional lives. Suggested prerequisites: Positive Psychology: Martin E. P. Seligman’s Visionary Science, Positive Psychology: Applications and Interventions and Positive Psychology: Character, Grit & Research Methods....

Top reviews

By ZM

Sep 24, 2018

Excellent! There was some common sense here, but plenty of new data and tools anyone can use in both their personal and professional life. A must for every human who wants to get the most out of life.

By NJ

Nov 03, 2018

Very useful course in building up resilience. Will take time to work on these skills but this course gives a good grounding by providing lots of helpful guidance and tips. So glad I did this course.

Filter by:

219 Reviews

By Ketti Mulrine

Feb 18, 2019

Life changing!

By Danya Saitowitz

Feb 11, 2019

Love it, very practical and easy to listen to.

By ruth

Feb 10, 2019

Absolutely loved the course...especially module four! Many areas of module four took me back to a course I completed through Relay. To me learning about Resilience is a passion not a job....I can’t get enough and am now on a journey to buy some of the books that were recommended throughout this Mooc! I am also going to encourage my husband to complete this course! And am also excited for our10 year old to complete the VIA! Thanks you again for a wonderful Mooc!

By Summer Wilson

Feb 01, 2019

I really enjoyed it!

By Felipe Fernandes Hess

Jan 30, 2019

So many ways about leading with setbacks, mind traps, and character Strengths ... This knowledge is essential for education, psychology, personal and professional development, coaching, wellbeing. This courses must be in every school on planet Earth!

By RASULOVA RAHMANA ISRAFIL

Jan 28, 2019

SUPER

By Natalie O'Connor

Jan 27, 2019

This was my favourite course of the specialization so far! It was so practical and the facilitator was great. There was fun in the MOOC, different activities made it more interactive. For a first MOOC, just wonderful. Thank you.

By Sean Whitaker

Jan 26, 2019

Brilliant course on a great topic. Well presented and very usefull

By Marina El Halabi Abi Ghannam

Jan 22, 2019

Lifelong tools!

By Molly KC Reid

Jan 15, 2019

Love the application focus of everything we did. Examples were clear and easy to understand, and Karen's style of presenting is approachable. Also good use of guest speakers/instructors to show application in different contexts.