Chevron Left
Back to Private Equity and Venture Capital

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Private Equity and Venture Capital by Università Bocconi

4.8
2,375 ratings
563 reviews

About the Course

The course deals with the analysis of the private equity and venture capital business. Over the course, students will be provided with a deep understanding of the mechanism underpinning the creation and/or development of a firm and the financial support it can get from the financial system through venture capital investment. The course tries to discover how special financial intermediaries (called private equity investors) finance through equity companies belonging to different stages of their life-cycle, starting from the very beginning (startup and early stage) to a more mature phase (i.e. expansion, mature age, etc.) or also staying into crises and decline. Private equity (named venture capital when the company is in the first phases of its life cycle) deals with very different activities, such as scouting, advisory, deal-making, valuation, and financing as financial intermediaries see it. COURSE SYLLABUS The course is made up of four different modules: WEEK 1 - Introduction to Private Equity and Venture Capital WEEK 2 - Discovering Private Equity Investors: Legal Issues and Taxation WEEK 3 - Management of Private Equity and Venture Capital Funds WEEK 4 - Company Valuation And Deal Making In Private Equity Settings WEEK 5 - Final Test Throughout the course, guest speakers and practitioners will be interviewed to provide some examples of concrete applications of the contents presented. RECOMMENDED BACKGROUND An understanding of the basic concepts of corporate financing accounting principles is required, while prior knowledge of private equity and venture capital is not required however it is recommended, as this is a course designed to introduce you to the fundamental concepts in private equity and venture capital....

Top reviews

AM

Dec 04, 2015

Amazing course! Thank you very much, Stefano Caselli, for a such wonderful content and perfect presenting. I took a lot of very useful and practical information from it.\n\nI do appreciate it. Thanks!

AS

Jul 04, 2017

Very good course to understand the basics. I now have a solid platform to learn more advanced topics in this field. The best aspect of the course is its structured approach of slides and information.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 563 Reviews for Private Equity and Venture Capital

By Charles Z

May 30, 2016

Too simple to be realistic

By Aram D B

Jun 04, 2019

Stefano Caselli is a great professor. A friend of mine took a course with him during his masters program at SDA Bocconi and all I was told was just how good Mr. Caselli is as a professor. He teaching style is more practical than theoretical and is what most professors in this day and age lack. Would recommend this course to anyone with an interest in finance.

By Felix T

May 13, 2019

Very good introductory course to this complex subject. Videos are well explained and material is simple but sufficient. On the down side, I just felt that the lat module was a bit unstructured and that evaluations were not very numeric, even when a couple of modules do go into detail for numeric examples of exercises

By Karol S

Dec 08, 2018

Very good course. I would extend the calculation part and go slower and more specific. The exemplification is to general regarding the calculations complexity.

By Sushovan J

Nov 13, 2018

One Request : Please show Calculation if Possible by Using a Class Room Type Board and Marker.;

By Seah Y N

Oct 23, 2018

Great course covering a good foundation of PEI & VC (from a legal and process standpoint) and commonly-used formulas. Lecturer provided much context of the real world through interview with practicing PEIs.

By Malte B

Aug 28, 2018

Love the way you are even asked to write out answers and there is even someone answering on your feedback. Powerpoints to be prepared and then the Video Lectures make it perfectly easy to understand such a topic (just at week 2 atm so quiet amazed what`s still gonna come).

I really recommend first going through the Presentation slides and then take notes during his VIdeo Lectures to round it up. Thank you for this great Content, your the best :D

By Benji C

Jul 11, 2018

Great starting point to learn about Venture Capital. If you're more of a visual learner instead of auditory, I'd recommend taking more than 10 minutes to take notes on the slides, then listening to the videos at 1.25 speed.

By Gary G

Oct 05, 2016

Great overall material.

I think work needs to be done in order to improve the presentation of new concepts and vocabulary as well as the English of the speaker (and the corresponding caption).

By Sebastian A G d A

Jul 18, 2019

It was a great introduction to Venture Capital and Private Equity. It definitely increased my interest towards the industry.

By Giuseppe F S

Jul 17, 2019

Professor Stefano Caselli is a very good teacher. The additional materials are very clear, and I think that they will be useful also in the technical assessment phase.

By Mayank D

Jul 17, 2019

A great learning experience!

By Wole O M

Jul 15, 2019

The content of the course is really helpful and touches on the very important subjects in Private Equity and Venture Capital. The delivery by the Professor Stefano Caseli is also fantastic. Thank you!

By Lavoute

Jul 13, 2019

very interesting course

By Emily R W

Jul 11, 2019

Great class, touched on everything I was looking for and especially helpful with valuation calculations.

By Oleksandr T

Jul 09, 2019

Very interesting and practical course. Thank you very much!

By Alexander P

Jul 09, 2019

Great course! Thank you!

By Roselyn

Jul 09, 2019

Good content for newcomers to the industry or a refresher for the veterans.

By Ivy L

Jul 07, 2019

Excellent guidance and explanation and the instructor gave good explanation.

By Nicoletta C

Jul 06, 2019

Interesting and very well done!

By Mary R C O

Jul 05, 2019

A good course for people interested in understanding broadly the topic of PE and Venture Capital with a basic background in legal and finance

By Sehar M

Jul 03, 2019

Good course overall. Some of the interviews seemed outdated (for eg with reference to market views)

By Richard G S

Jul 02, 2019

Thank you very much. I learned so much and equipped me with the knowledge relative to my current working industry. God bless.

By Juan C O

Jun 30, 2019

Very informative and interesting

By Lucas V V

Jun 28, 2019

Very exhaustive and clear course, congratulations!