Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Probability and Data

Introduction to Probability and Data, Duke University

4.7
2,891 ratings
649 reviews

About this Course

This course introduces you to sampling and exploring data, as well as basic probability theory and Bayes' rule. You will examine various types of sampling methods, and discuss how such methods can impact the scope of inference. A variety of exploratory data analysis techniques will be covered, including numeric summary statistics and basic data visualization. You will be guided through installing and using R and RStudio (free statistical software), and will use this software for lab exercises and a final project. The concepts and techniques in this course will serve as building blocks for the inference and modeling courses in the Specialization....

Top reviews

By AA

Jan 24, 2018

This course literally taught me a lot, the concepts were beautifully explained but the way it was delivered and overall exercises and the difficulty of problems made it more challenging and enjoying.

By HD

Mar 31, 2018

The tutor makes it really simple. The given examples really helped to understand the concepts and apply it to a wide range of problems. Thank you for this. Wish I could complete the assignments too.

Filter by:

626 Reviews

By Krishnendu Sinha

Apr 15, 2019

Excellent! mind-blowing! I am immensely impressed by the way the coursed is designed. Very well balanced introductory course with an wonderful introduction of R (which is very needed for modern day statistical problem with huge data)! So extremely recommended for those who wants to kink start their understanding with statistics (in any field!!)!

By Lotachukwu Ibe

Apr 13, 2019

Great course! Video lectures are neat and well crafted. Assignments and quizzes are challenging too.

By katie vigil

Apr 11, 2019

I wish they went over how to use R for beginners in the beginning of the course. I feel like the final project was stressful and piecemealed together from google searches on the web. I think they should give us a list of all the codes in the beginning of the course that we will use throughout the entire course.

By Veerawut Akanisanant

Apr 10, 2019

This is an excellent course to lay down the ground works for further courses within the specialization. You'll get the necessary introduction to statistics along with beginner level knowledge of the statistical tool R package. While certain area of the course, especially week 5 data analysis project, can be challenging. Know that the discussion forum is always there to help you if you are stuck. The quiz and project is never outside the scope of the course materials. Totally would recommend this course for anyone who interested in statistics.

By Archana Tikayat Ray

Apr 09, 2019

Loved the course! Well taught and the labs support the learning process. I would definitely recommend this course to friends.

By Rafael Cheung

Apr 08, 2019

I especially love the examples offered by professor in the course, very helpful for comprehension and application

By Amruta Ganu

Apr 07, 2019

The course has been handled really well! I learnt a lot. I took this course to revisit the basics and get them conceptually clarified. And I am completely satisfied with what I have achieved.

The R programming part need instructions on how to work with an R Markdown File, I feel, as I myself spent too much time trying to figure it out.

By Jacob Turney

Apr 05, 2019

Fantastic intro course. Gives you all the tools you need to succeed. Great for learning statistics and also R.

By Atul Vaish

Apr 02, 2019

Perfect Course to teach me toughest subject of my educational life ...!!

By Chowan

Mar 29, 2019

Although the final project is quite hard, and I took a long time to complete it, but I did learn a lot from it!