Chevron Left
Back to Programming Fundamentals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming Fundamentals by Duke University

4.7
916 ratings
213 reviews

About the Course

Programming is an increasingly important skill, whether you aspire to a career in software development, or in other fields. This course is the first in the specialization Introduction to Programming in C, but its lessons extend to any language you might want to learn. This is because programming is fundamentally about figuring out how to solve a class of problems and writing the algorithm, a clear set of steps to solve any problem in its class. This course will introduce you to a powerful problem-solving process—the Seven Steps—which you can use to solve any programming problem. In this course, you will learn how to develop an algorithm, then progress to reading code and understanding how programming concepts relate to algorithms....

Top reviews

SS

Apr 21, 2019

I love the focus of this first course in the specialization is about problem solving and developing a mindset for programming. The course is well thought out and concepts are clearly explained!

MM

Dec 27, 2017

Well worth it! Hated it in the beginning, couldn't wrap my head around the algorithms, but the course studies helped, kept reading, watching the videos, FINALLY got it!\n\n100% can recommend!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 219 Reviews for Programming Fundamentals

By Mariam S

Apr 09, 2019

I would like to know more general things like how programming works, how frameworks, libraries work and so on.

By Arthur M

Apr 08, 2019

Really great course. Took this as a refresher. I feel that the content of this course was significantly higher quality than the programming tuition I received in first semester of university.

By Jimmy K A

Nov 11, 2018

Really Excellent course. Fully understandable and very useful.

By Yilan X

Jun 19, 2019

It is really helpful to give the big picture of planning, 7 steps, how to write an algorithm first before diving into the details of syntax. In that way it stresses the importance of problem solving using programming

By Vipul K

Jun 19, 2019

Its Good.

By Matthew L

Jun 19, 2019

Terrible assessments.

By Compunaut

Jun 17, 2019

I liked this course but I always thought "How hard would this be if I wouldn't already know binary numbers?". Be prepared to look this up, if you don't have the background.

By anish k

Jun 17, 2019

Good course hai

By kumail r

Jun 16, 2019

awesome teaching

niece explanation

By rajnikant y

Jun 14, 2019

its very good course

By Vishal C

Jun 13, 2019

Great for beginners! Also good for teaching algorithmic thinking

By Seif E E

Jun 09, 2019

Easy to understand and Well planned.

By Joseph J R

Jun 09, 2019

This is a wonderful, wonderful course. I struggled with programming fundamentals for a long time. I had a terrible experience with C-programming as an undergraduate at Purdue many years ago, so I wish I had been taught by this excellent team with this clear, simple, accessible material back then.

The rationales behind applying the best-practices, algorithm construction, and analysis are so much clearer and easier to pick up in this course in nearly any other course I have taken for and using programming techniques. Thank you so much! -J. J. Radler, Seattle, WA

By Adithya R

Jun 06, 2019

Very thorough and useful course.

By Siddharth R

Jun 05, 2019

Had fun learning some fundamentals on programming !!!

By Pranesh G

Jun 05, 2019

it was really fantastic journey. this course gave a strong foundation to c language.

By Deleted A

Jun 04, 2019

Good learning experience

By Zachary

Jun 02, 2019

Excellent foundations course with an emphasis on the underlying logic of core concepts.

By Zaid

Jun 02, 2019

It's totally amazing. I'm loving it. Great lecturers and the way of teaching is outstanding

By Ananjaya T

May 29, 2019

The 'first four steps' have turned out to be the most important thing I have learnt in programming all-together. The course has helped me to convert everything into numbers, formulate my ideas on paper, planning in-depth before diving into programming and implementing the result into a language that the computer understands. Thank you!

By Blaine C

May 29, 2019

Perhaps more detail, or at least more examples, on finding the algorithm given a list of numbers.

By J K

May 28, 2019

quite good, although the whole stuff with "write out in english" is a bit tedious.

By sonu k

May 22, 2019

just awesome lectures. more than my expectations .

thank you Coursera .

By Stephanie S

May 21, 2019

Generally good, but I thought there were some holes in explanation, especially in how to convert from Binary, to Hex to Decimal and back all by hand. I had to look up methods outside of the course of how to calculate this. A lot of the assignments are also pure tedium and making sure you're counting spaces in graphs correctly. Assignments could have been less frustrating if the spacing in the grids were labeled (0, 1, 2, 3, etc).

By Ashwin S H

May 18, 2019

This is a really good course. The teachers were pleasant and taught the concepts well. It was a good experience.