Chevron Left
Back to Psychological First Aid

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Psychological First Aid by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
2,370 ratings
576 reviews

About the Course

Learn to provide psychological first aid to people in an emergency by employing the RAPID model: Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition. Utilizing the RAPID model (Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition), this specialized course provides perspectives on injuries and trauma that are beyond those physical in nature. The RAPID model is readily applicable to public health settings, the workplace, the military, faith-based organizations, mass disaster venues, and even the demands of more commonplace critical events, e.g., dealing with the psychological aftermath of accidents, robberies, suicide, homicide, or community violence. In addition, the RAPID model has been found effective in promoting personal and community resilience. Participants will increase their abilities to: - Discuss key concepts related to PFA - Listen reflectively - Differentiate benign, non-incapacitating psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions from more severe, potentially incapacitating, crisis reactions - Prioritize (triage) psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions - Mitigate acute distress and dysfunction, as appropriate - Recognize when to facilitate access to further mental health support - Practice self-care Developed in collaboration with Johns Hopkins Open Education Lab....

Top reviews

PG

Feb 10, 2017

A very helpful course and full of practical information for persons interfered with disaster relief and crisis intervention as this course has a well- planned syllabus and really informative vignettes

ST

Jul 19, 2017

Very well prepared materials and videos.\n\nsimulation was really helpful and not too lengthy or detailed\n\nInstructor was very knowledgeable and seems to know to say the right amount of information

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 573 Reviews for Psychological First Aid

By Barbara V R

May 12, 2019

I would recommend this course, very pleasantly presented by Dr. G. Everly, to professionals of different background. It is important to raise awareness of compassionate social support for people in need, which this course certainly does. RAPID model is proved to be efficient and easy to implement. I personally value the Self-care section, as I often find myself overwhelmed with other people's negative experiences and I tend to over empathize with them. Another useful tip, especially for therapists and/or psychologists as myself, is not to diagnose or provide therapeutic intervention. It is good to keep that in mind during PFA, because it can do more damage than good. Regarding Self-care section, it would have been useful to get more information about available resources for the helpers (e.g. supervision, on the spot intervention, support groups etc).

By AlexTarriba V

Mar 26, 2019

I enjoyed the course! Specially the videos. It made it much easier to understand how a conversation can go and how to handle it.

By Raquel S d C

Jun 19, 2019

adorei

By Maya F

Jun 18, 2019

I think this is a very useful topic about which everybody should be more conscious. Taking this course is an excellent way of training people and building the surge capacity that communities need. I truly enjoyed taking the course and from my point of view it's very achievable and not too long or too difficult. More people should become aware that they are able to take this course and learn this useful techniques, not only for natural disasters, but for everyday life.

By Fabián A

Jun 17, 2019

Truly wonderful

By Silah R M

Jun 15, 2019

perfect , i love it

By Conor M

Jun 11, 2019

Fantastic course! It really provided the foundation to understanding PFA and it's application in helping people who are in disequilibrium following a stressful/traumatic event.

By Pedro F A

May 31, 2019

The course is relevant, although the manner the content is transmited could improve.

By Nick C

May 30, 2019

Great course, engaging and useful.

By Ravindranath. B K

May 29, 2019

Good Course to understand how to be human in this World. And empathy and intimacy has been expressed in very manner.

By Ahmad F A M

May 24, 2019

It is an excellent course, despite I thought it will talk about some kind of anxiety, but I really get a very very helpful material.

By Marwan M A A

May 22, 2019

Ggreat course

By amal m a

May 13, 2019

e

By samantha m

May 09, 2019

Very much enjoyed this class and strongly believe it will help anyone who takes it to aid those not only in disaster situations, but in many areas of life

By Veronica B

May 07, 2019

Awesome course! Very easy to follow and great information.

By Prashant S S

May 03, 2019

Very nice and informative course

By Iyanda S

May 02, 2019

Great course! Easy to follow and you walk away with a great tool for your kit.

By Halyna

May 01, 2019

I enjoy this course, so useful for Ukrainian reality too

By miguel Á C V

May 01, 2019

Complete and really useful.

By

Apr 30, 2019

Excellent content but some of the assessment questions do not relate to the video simulations as closely as they purport to, which makes it difficult to anticipate what answer they are looking for. No such problem with the academic content though and that was all very interesting.

By Inès S

Apr 30, 2019

Great course! I think all the basic concepts are thoroughly explained.

By Rashida B

Apr 29, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this class. I will continue to familiarize myself with the RAPID model. We're living in times in which this type of training seems increasingly necessary. It's also an incredible way to give back to mine and neighboring communities where survivors may feel a level of discomfort with "strangers" during such an vulnerable time in their lives.

By Mike R G

Apr 27, 2019

Great course for a future police officer like myself. A lot of training information to learn about people suffering from trauma as well as providing the best care as a first responder is critical . I highly appreciate this class and hope to see more advanced level psychology courses be available on this platform . Also, this is a great resume booster as well as can be mentioned on a cover letter to make you stand out from future applicants .

By Pauline D

Apr 25, 2019

V

e

r

y

w

e

l

l

d

o

n

e

By rabiyazahid

Apr 20, 2019

good