Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Introduction to Data Science in Python, University of Michigan

4.5
8,313 ratings
2,098 reviews

About this Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

By AU

Dec 10, 2017

Wow, this was amazing. Learned a lot (mostly thanks to stack overflow) but the course also opened my eyes to all the possibilities available out there and I feel like i'm only scratching the surface!

By SI

Mar 16, 2018

overall the good introductory course of python for data science but i feel it should have covered the basics in more details .specially for the ones who do not have any prior programming background .

Filter by:

2,034 Reviews

By Weinan Hu

Dec 11, 2018

It is a very nice course, providing you are able to pour a LOT of individual efforts into it, especially into the assignments. The knowledge required to finish the course is far beyond what they taught. I spent 70% of my time in the course on Stackoverflow or Google, or asking my friends. However, I admitted I gained huge amount of knowledge and experiences, as well as "individual research skills" and confidence, from this course. I would recommend going through this course in a much shorter period of time than recommended (like in a week), during your vacation or week off.

By Syed Danyal Hassan

Dec 10, 2018

Best Course ever!!

By Min Li

Dec 10, 2018

Good exercise, very practical course, teach and self learning combined.

By Robert J King

Dec 10, 2018

Even though I am already a heavy user of Pandas in my daily work, this course forced me to learn several useful features that I had never knew about or bothered to learn. The exercises were challenging enough that it took a decent amount of time and effort to complete them. There were many technical challenges with the autograder and the coursera hosted notebooks that made this more of a challenge than it should have been.

By Nick Ritchie

Dec 09, 2018

Content was well paced and well presented but the auto grading submissions took a long time to get used to and were very stressful. The recommended time to complete the assessments was also very optimistic, most assessments took me easily double the time suggested.

By Raghubir Singh

Dec 09, 2018

I would highly recommend this course anyone who likes to learn basic fundamentals of Data Science. I would like to say big thank you to this course instructors. Again, Thank you coursera.

By Natrajan Jaiswal

Dec 09, 2018

Though assignments are tough, but mentor support in discussion forums are incredible :)

By Pravin Arun Jagtap Deshamukh

Dec 09, 2018

can be made a bit detailed course on Python

By Freison Antonio Castro Sanchez

Dec 07, 2018

Pretty good course

By Mauricio

Dec 07, 2018

Great Course, very useful basic python course. Although I had lots of experience with python it is always good to go back to basics and reinforce good coding practices